Sony slt repair? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > Photo for HD Video (D-SLR and others)

Photo for HD Video (D-SLR and others)
HD from Nikon D90, other still photo cams (except EOS 5D Mk. II, LUMIX GH1).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2013, 03:44 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Sony slt repair?

The hdmi out on my Sony a99 doesn't work. I've emailed Sony but haven't gotten a response. Does anyone know where in the Los Angeles tea I could get this looked at/repaired?
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2013, 03:36 PM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,814
Re: Sony slt repair?

If it's under warranty, all Sony goes through their TX repair shop - you can get the # on the Sony site and call to set up the repair. That output is likely on the mainboard, so hopefully still under warranty if it went bad.

Have you done a bit of checking to see if it's a bad cable or something other than the camera? I know I just ordered in some cables for another Sony cam I've got, and every single one of them had a manufacturing defect so they only connected when wiggled "just so"... cables are a "first stop" on troubleshooting signal issues, as they tend to fail and take more abuse.

Other quick "repair guy" questions - did the HDMI ever work? Any possibility it is a setting on either end of the equation that has been changed, causing the "fail"? I've experienced some odd behaviors between my cable box and TV (just ONE of the TV's), finally had to go to component cable, as I couldn't figure out why the sound would keep cutting out... when I swapped boxes to check if that was the source of the problem, the picture on another TV reformatted, I still don't think it's quite right!
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2013, 12:48 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 444
Re: Sony slt repair?

Dear Dave,

So I finally got it to work after having tried everything else by going online and downloading the new firmware update for the (abysmal in video mode) autofocus to take advantage of more lenses. I was afraid that maybe this wasn't a full firmware reboot, that maybe it just wrote over one section of the camera's os but thankfully it wrote over the whole camera program and voila, the hdmi out works again.

I suggest everyone with an a99 get the firmware update, whether or not they use the lenses in question. I suspect Sony knows there were some bugs in the earlier version and just didn't want it to get out.

Thanks so much for replying Dave:)
Betsy Moore is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > Photo for HD Video (D-SLR and others)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network