Help with A1E audio settings, please. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 18th, 2006, 10:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
Help with A1E audio settings, please.

I can't seem to increase the volume on my new A1E. I have the extension mic plugged into input 1 and whatever I do in the Standard Set menu to Mic Level, Ext Sur Mic and XLR Set and switching from auto to manual, the sound I'm getting remains constant at what I guess is less than half of what it should be. Help much appreciated - I've a job on Friday.
Mike Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2006, 12:08 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
The A1's external mic (ECM-NV1) is a junk. It is so low level mic that it's almost impossible to use it. You'll get much hotter sound when using better mics.
Petteri Salmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2006, 12:56 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
I'm beginning to realise that, Petteri. In fact when I take the external mic off and rely on the built in mic at least I get an acceptable volume level - I don't know whether it is variable though - I've not tried that yet.
Mike Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2006, 03:05 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
I'm still looking for a better mic. I tested A1 with Rode NT5 (which is studio mic, not suitable for camera mic) and ECM-NV1. Difference between those two mics were about 10db! + the sound was much better via Rode.
Petteri Salmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2006, 05:09 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
OK more or less sorted. To get an acceptable sound level you have to increase the volume to full in the Ext Sur Mic menues for the External mic provided by Sony. You can see the actual levels being recorded in the VF. If you want to dispense with the External mic you have to unplug it - not just switch it off. The volume level in the Menu can then be dropped down a bit. There are no levels shown in the VF for the built in mic.

Cheers
Mike Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2006, 01:54 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petteri Salmi
I'm still looking for a better mic. I tested A1 with Rode NT5 (which is studio mic, not suitable for camera mic) and ECM-NV1. Difference between those two mics were about 10db! + the sound was much better via Rode.
Try the Rode NTG1. that should work well.
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network