HC3 Questions - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series
Sony's latest single-CMOS additions to their HDV camcorder line.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 28th, 2006, 12:21 PM   #16
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 5
A few HC3 clips

Only had my HC3 a few days now, still getting to grips with it. All of these shot handheld as I don't have a tripod yet....

Not 100% happy with the convert to WMV, but I've played with various settings and still can't come close to the source M2T files..... More experimentation required I think....

Probably won't stream that well, so best to download....

http://www.bis96gw.f2s.com/video/lick.wmv

http://www.bis96gw.f2s.com/video/sun.wmv

http://www.bis96gw.f2s.com/video/saab.wmv

http://www.bis96gw.f2s.com/video/smell.wmv

Last edited by Gavin Wightman; May 29th, 2006 at 02:49 AM.
Gavin Wightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2006, 06:53 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 385
Were these shot in cinema mode?
Tony Tibbetts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2006, 02:49 AM   #18
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 5
No, but it is a European HC3 - so it will be shooting at 1080i/50 if that explains the frame rate....
Gavin Wightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2006, 07:01 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
HC3 Questions

I know the info is out there somewhere but I seem to be having difficulty finding it.

(1) Does the HC3 have manual focus? No matter it doesn't have a focus ring I just want to make sure that once I set the focus that it will stay where I set it.

(2) Does the HC3 have manual exposure or is it strictly automatic?

Thanks in advance,

Danny Fye
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2006, 07:25 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 71
You can do nearly everything manual.
Control goes over the touch screen, which is very good to operate and gives you personalized menue settings if you want.
Exception: shutter - you can turn it to manual, then it is fixed to 50 (on the PAL version), I guess 60 is standard in US. But itīs cine shutter and it is o.k.
Exposure: via Menue or Dial, Iris down from XX to 1.8 & when turning lower Gain comes up. No seperate gain control.
Bad: You canīt see Iris and gain values while taping, just on playing back. Thanks sony.
It is o.k. for doing serious work, but you canīt pull focus or iris - the dial is to small and e.g. exposure changes in steps.
The touch screen is great and sharp and also perfect in bright sunlight, when the sun shines on the screen (reflexion brightens the Image).
Viewfinder is awful.
Holger Leonhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2006, 05:32 AM   #21
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 5
HC3 Clip: World's largest mirrorball

Took this clip earlier in the week of the world's largest mirrorball :)

50mb, WMV-HD format, PAL 25fps

http://www.bis96gw.f2s.com/video/mirror.wmv
Gavin Wightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2006, 06:45 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Nice pictures. Has this been realised within an NLE?
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2006, 02:30 PM   #23
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 5
It was edited using Ulead Videostudio 10.....
Gavin Wightman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 11:39 AM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
HC3 Filter Kit

I just got my HC3 and the Sony 30mm filter kit VF-30CPKS (Polar and protector filter). The filters are specified as a fit for all 30mm Sony cams. I didn't unpack the filters because they look rather "thick" and if needed I want to send them back. Can sombody confirm there will be no vignetting?
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 02:48 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 844
i'm sure that it will be fine.
- there's no way Sony would make 30mm filter-kit that would cause vignetting on one of their own cameras. If it DID vignette, it'd occur first in the stills 'memory' mode.

I'd open the pack with confidence.
Stu Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2006, 04:30 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Thx Stu. Filters are OK. No vignetting.
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2006, 01:47 AM   #27
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
HC3 as playback deck for FX1/Z1u

What about a cheap used or greymarket hc3 you can probably find on ebay as a playback deck for your more expensive Sony rigs. Also hc3 as your hdv vcr for your big HD plasma TV with HDMI connectors. These are just a couple of more uses for the cheaper hc3. HVR-M10u for about 3 grand or a thousand dollar hc3 with hdmi and even it`s own lcd screen.
Scott Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2006, 08:46 AM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Well, it's the cheapest HDV playback device at present. However, I'm not so sure how many miles you get that way. The decks should have larger and more robust parts, which wear longer. The unit should also have heat dissapating qualities as well.

In the field, many folks may just opt to use their primary cams as temporary decks anyway.

Just remember, when trying to trim cost and cut corners, you get what you pay for.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2006, 10:30 AM   #29
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I agree--cameras weren't made for rewinding and fast-forwarding like a deck. Plus, the M10 and other Sony HDV deck(s) support 60i and 50i, something I'm sure the HC3 doesn't do. But the camera will make a pretty darn good B camera or behind-the-scenes camera if you do have a Z1 or FX1.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2006, 02:08 PM   #30
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 10
HC3 HDV clip

Just some footage of a garden, about 36seconds long, in HDV.

http://www.filefactory.com/?5b6f31

Sorry about the host, it is a bit annoying but i don't have the space to host this file.

Last edited by Graham Mullis; June 18th, 2006 at 03:13 PM.
Graham Mullis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-A1 and HDR-HC Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network