Any luck putting a 35mm lens adaptor on the V1u? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2007, 06:16 PM   #16
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Okay, what are the options for 35mm lens adaptors?

1. Redrock Micro (www.redrockmicro.com).

2. P+S Technik (pstechnik.de/en/index.php).

3. Cinevate (www.cinevate.com).

Any others? And please provide links.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 09:10 PM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Buruchian View Post
Is the image upside down in the viewfinder with the Brevis?

Also can you use other mattebox systems?

and last, is there a follow focus system available?
Adapters ALWAYS invert the image. It is a function of physics and lenses. All lenses invert images. Your eyeballs do it. Your camera does it. The chips in your camera are essentially upside down to correct the inversion. Some adapters have an extra device that re-inverts the image, but that adds more things in the light path so there is less light and more places to get dust.

The Brevis uses standard rail systems, so any mattebox should work.

I believe the follow focus is in development at the beta prototype stage. Go to the cinevate forums for more information.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 09:42 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles CA USA
Posts: 507
FX7 new rig here

Just building this:

Home made 35mm DOF box.

Uses pretty much home-found parts except for a 72mm Redrock HD achromat which I've got on a 62/72mm step-up ring at the moment.

(planning in using this box with other cameras with larger lenses as well, otherwise I might well have gone with 52mm)

Uses a standard Cavision 15mm rod system.

That's my Chroszeil 4x4 matte box off my 16mm camera up front.
Beachtek 8 and Varizoom monitor battery sitting on top of the DOFbox until I find a better home for them.

Nikon primes for the moment. Maybe 35mm movie primes later on, we'll see how this goes.

The Varizoom 7" monitor up top does the unflipping and reversing.

Love this camera!
Attached Thumbnails
Any luck putting a 35mm lens adaptor on the V1u?-dofbox1web.jpg  
Chris Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2007, 10:46 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 27
SGPro R2 on V1E

Hi folks I have a SGPro R2 on my V1E with Canon FD lenses. The one on this picture is a 135mm F2 lens its great, I love this thing. I have a cheap Indian Mattebox now so I will take another picture with it on the rig looks great, just need my FF now.

http://www.algarveteamproperties.co....es/sgpror2.jpg
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II, 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4, 16-35mm F2.8L Flash 580EXII
Manfrotto 701HDV Tripod. Apple Mac Pro Dual 3Ghz + 4Gig Apple Cinema display 23"
Stephen Deboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2007, 12:15 AM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 81
Letus35 Flip with 85mm Canon EOS

I recently traveled to Cambodia for my church and took a V1U, Letus35 flip(http://www.adapterplace.com/), and a canon eos 85mm. I have the low rez video available at www.wampictures.com, first video on the left, if you want to see what it looks like go there. (shot in 1080 60i and edited in 480 60i)

My opinion: The advantage of the letus35 flip is that it flips the image so you dont have to do that in post. Plus as I was shooting, it was nice not to figure out a way to see it right side up (since most 35 adapters record it upside down). I did a lot of shooting from the hip and all hand held. I could just screw the adapter on, add the lens, adjust the camera settings, and i was ready to shoot. In the end, I was impressed that the letus did so well for the price, and allowed me to shoot amazing video! That's my experience, hope that helps.. -wam
Winston Ashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2007, 06:14 AM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,961
Great images. I'm always impressed by the color from the V1. The footage with and without the adapter mixes nicely.
Marcus Marchesseault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 03:30 AM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 27
Hi again, I know most of you guys are from accross the pond but the SGPro R3 is really worth a look, check out the home page and watch the test vids, the light loss is minimal about 1 stop and then the lens you use will also add some loss but go for the the F1.4 or F1.2 primes if you can. I have my system setup on rails and I can switch from 35mm rail system to V1 with its own sun shade and back in about 3 minutes. Most of this time is getting the focal distance and focus on the GG but its very easy, run and gun with the system gets a bit tiresome but most of my work is supported. Its really worth a look and Wayne Kinney has allways been spot on for support and responses.

And no I am not associated with the SGPro or Wayne. Its just a great piece of kit.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II, 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4, 16-35mm F2.8L Flash 580EXII
Manfrotto 701HDV Tripod. Apple Mac Pro Dual 3Ghz + 4Gig Apple Cinema display 23"
Stephen Deboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 04:29 AM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Stephen,

For your SGPro, which step-up ring are you using with the V1? Also, how do you manage image flipping?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 04:35 AM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 27
Piotr,

The version of SGPro I have is the R2 with the longer tube and Achromat. It uses a 72mm to 62mm adapter ring that was supplied with the unit. I use FCP to flip the image in Post. But Wayne has a flip adapter he is thinking of developing as an add on, but only if he gets a high enough demand.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II, 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4, 16-35mm F2.8L Flash 580EXII
Manfrotto 701HDV Tripod. Apple Mac Pro Dual 3Ghz + 4Gig Apple Cinema display 23"
Stephen Deboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 04:41 AM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
That's interesting, as with the Rev3 it's said on the web page that they don't provide step-up rings for cameras with lens other than 72mm...
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 04:44 AM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 27
Piotr,
I must admit I dont remember getting the ring with the adapter but I can't think of anything that I have that it would have come with. I order so much kit off the internet its possible I did get this from a third party company though. Steve
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II, 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4, 16-35mm F2.8L Flash 580EXII
Manfrotto 701HDV Tripod. Apple Mac Pro Dual 3Ghz + 4Gig Apple Cinema display 23"
Stephen Deboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 05:01 AM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly is the function of the achromat in 35mm setups?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 06:01 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 27
It helps get a good focus on the ground glass, some cameras do not require them but even without needing them you get a better result. Wayne explained that the long tube (which is longer than Rev 1) helps obtain the maximum resolution of the imaged help also by the Acromat.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II, 24-105mm F4L, 50mm F1.4, 16-35mm F2.8L Flash 580EXII
Manfrotto 701HDV Tripod. Apple Mac Pro Dual 3Ghz + 4Gig Apple Cinema display 23"
Stephen Deboo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-V1 / HDR-FX7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network