Possible Bad Sony Z1, but I need a comparison to another Z1...PLEASE HELP! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 4th, 2005, 06:40 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California
Posts: 60
Possible Bad Sony Z1, but I need a comparison to another Z1...PLEASE HELP!

Hello and thanks in advance if you can lend any assistance.

I just got the Sony Z1 and everything worked great until I tried to capture HDV content into my NLE system. Since so many things could be wrong (software, hardware, etc.), the first thing I need to do is narrow down the possibilities, beginning with the camera (especially since I only have two more days to return the camera to B&H if something IS wrong). here's my question:

when I navigate to the [IN/OUT REC] menu (in either camera or VCR mode) and scroll down to the VCR HDV/DV setting and pull up the submenu that lets you change from "Auto" to "HDV" to "DV", there is a message at the bottom of the screen that reads:

Changes NOT allowed.
Unplug i. Link cable.

this message is there regardless if the camera is connected via the iLink (IEEE1394) cable or not. B&H and Sony (surprise, surprise) couldn't/wouldn't tell me if this message was normal and always present regardless if the camera was plugged-in or not.

I get the same message in HDV->DV convert menu and thus far I have been unable to down-convert and capture DV from HDV.

Can anyone tell me if their Sony Z1/FX1 says the same thing whether or not its plugged in via the iLink cable??

Any help would be most welcome!

Thanks!

Andrew Stone
A. Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:21 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
It is just a warning for you to unplug before you change, all of them do that.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2005, 08:56 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
It just says that. What you need to do is set it the way you want it, and then I always turn it off and then on again before capturing.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2005, 08:45 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California
Posts: 60
That's a relief!

Thanks...I appreciate the information. I didn't think it was the camera, but I wanted to make sure. now it's time to troubleshoot all the other stuff so I can capture HDV
A. Stone is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network