Gain readout - Z1U at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 23rd, 2005, 09:15 PM   #1
Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 127
Gain readout - Z1U

In the PD150 you could push the Gain button (while in the manual mode) and get a readout of the current gain setting that the camcorder had set automatically.

When you do this on the Z1U the camera switches to the H/M/L gain setting that you have programmed given what the gain selection switch is set to. This prorgrammed value is only coincidentally equal to what the camcorder had automatically set until one activates the gain button.

Is there any way, while in the Record/pause mode to get a readout of the actual gain setting that the camcorder would prefer?

Carroll Lam
Carroll Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2005, 09:28 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Not sure that I understand... in manual mode (selector switch in center position) the LCD displays the shutter, iris and gain all the time. Do you want to see what these setting are in auto mode? I don't ever use auto, but it seems that none of these things are displayed there (selector switch in the left position). Do you want to switch from auto to manual and then see what the auto settings had been? Maybe that isn't possible with the gain?Not sure why I would want to do that personally...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2005, 01:14 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 65
I dont think it's possible to get a gain readout Carroll. At least on my FX1 it's impossible. If you're worried about what gain the camera uses in autoexposure, use the "AGC LIMIT" setting in the picture profile you're using. It will set a cap to the gain so image won't be so noisy. If you're interested you can always get a gain readout later, with the picture data.

I always use manual settings when I can control the situation, but many times that's not possible. In those AE cases sometimes the camera exposes well, and sometimes not. When not, I know of no better way than to try "Back light"/"Spot light", and if that doesn't work, adjust the brightness in the picture profile. I think the camera is great, but it would have been even greater with a readily available "AE compensation" knob somewhere, perhaps the iris knob could have had that function when in AE mode.
Bjorn Moren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2005, 01:14 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 127
Thanks for the replies. You've pretty well confirmed my findings. I realize that one should seldom use auto settings but many times (as I could with the PD150) I would like to set a desired shutter speed and aperture, then press the gain button and see what the resulting gain would be with that setting of shutter and aperture.

I was just trying to determine if I was missing a way to get that readout. Apparently not.

Thanks, anyway.

Carroll Lam
Carroll Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2005, 01:37 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 36
Bjorn,

Do you mean something like 'auto exposure override' as is found on the Z1?
You push an assigned button and use the irisknob to manually adjust up/down.
It's handy indeed, but i don't know if it's available on the FX1.
Frank Feijen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2005, 02:24 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Feijen
Bjorn,

Do you mean something like 'auto exposure override' as is found on the Z1?
You push an assigned button and use the irisknob to manually adjust up/down.
It's handy indeed, but i don't know if it's available on the FX1.
Didn't know the Z1 had such a function. That would have been great to have for the FX1. Thanks Frank.
Bjorn Moren is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network