The Rode VideoMic and the HDR-FX1E. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2006, 06:37 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
The Rode VideoMic and the HDR-FX1E.

I hear I have to adapt my camera so this mic can fit on it. does anyone have any suggestions?

All i want to do is attach my mic to my camera.

Last edited by Oliver Zarandi; October 26th, 2006 at 09:31 AM.
Oliver Zarandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 10:36 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 30
i found this page from UK...they have a shoe adaptor...is it good for my FX1E?

http://www.b-hague.co.uk/video_accessories.htm

it says this shoe adaptor is for cameras that "do not not have a standard size accessory shoe so you are unable to attach other manufacturers microphones, lights etc."

my fx1E never came with a shoe adaptor or anything, so maybe this is a good buy?
Oliver Zarandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 02:08 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
I don't own an FX1 but im pretty sure the FX1 (u.s./canadian version) has a cold shoe mount at the front of the camera where the onboard mic is.
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 02:25 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver Zarandi
I hear I have to adapt my camera so this mic can fit on it. does anyone have any suggestions?

All i want to do is attach my mic to my camera.
Who said you can't use the Videomic on the FX1?

Why don't you ask Rode directly about that question:

http://www.rodemic.com/?pagename=Pro...oduct=VideoMic
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2006, 02:27 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Y Wong
I don't own an FX1 but im pretty sure the FX1 (u.s./canadian version) has a cold shoe mount at the front of the camera where the onboard mic is.
Of course it does! Right over the stereo mic, up front.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 01:43 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos E. Martinez
Of course it does! Right over the stereo mic, up front.

Will it interfere with the lcd screen?
Fred Foronda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 02:18 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
I don't own an FX1 but from looking @ FX1 pix I would more then likely say YES to teh fact that the rode mic will likely block the LCD screen on the FX1.

On that same note, the Sony 20/10 watt Video light with the large 91 series battery will also block the LCD screen.

A solution to both these problems would be to simply have the LCD screen on the FX1 flipped open b4 attaching any shoe accessories.
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 07:30 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 83
Actually, I own the FX1 and both the VideoMic AND the Sony light with the 970 battery fit perfectly fine on the shoe mount without ANY interference with the LCD screen being opened or closed.
John M. Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 07:49 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Charleston, West Virginia
Posts: 131
Did your camera not come with the little extender piece? My FX1 came with a shoe extender that effecively moves the shoe position forward about two inches and up about a half an inch. That might be long enough to solve this particular mic problem, I'm guessing that is what it is made for. Maybe check the box to see if it is in there - it could be easy to miss.
Dan Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2006, 09:38 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada!
Posts: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. Graham
Actually, I own the FX1 and both the VideoMic AND the Sony light with the 970 battery fit perfectly fine on the shoe mount without ANY interference with the LCD screen being opened or closed.
I stand corrected!
__________________
dreaming hobbyist + storyteller
www.michaelywong.com
Michael Y Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2006, 07:36 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Mounting Videomic and videolight at the same time?

Hi John,
just would like to check with you is it possible to mount both the videomic and the sony video light togather at the same time?

Regards
ys

Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. Graham
Actually, I own the FX1 and both the VideoMic AND the Sony light with the 970 battery fit perfectly fine on the shoe mount without ANY interference with the LCD screen being opened or closed.
Yow Siang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2006, 10:20 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 83
Yow, that would be my Holy Grail! I in fact have another thread on this forum asking about decent way on how to effectively add another shoe mount and/or adaptor to utilize both the light and mic. See below:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=78882

What I've been doing is using this thing I got from B&H:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...goryNavigation

It's OK and gets the job done. My main gripe(s) about it is that it raises both the light and the mic about an inch higher (the light is vertically aligned and simply mounted onto the FX1's shoe mount is already a little high as it is...). The other thing is that a tiny nudge on the bar can swivel it out of place and your mic and light can be off center by 15 degrees or so. I'm anal and want a perfect alignment.
John M. Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2006, 05:03 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
Posts: 1,137
Be careful!

Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. Graham
That Rycote accessory looks very useful.

But you shold be very careful with what you hang from the shoe mount (like the Rycote) and mic holder (like the J-rod). Those are fragile places to hold onto.

If anyone wants to go higher than 500 grams, IMHO a different option should be looked for. Like the Bracket 1 or something (which I saw some weeks ago and can't recall the name of) that you can lock onto the camera handle.
Carlos E. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2006, 08:09 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Rode Videomic crackling sound

Hi
Wonder anyone has this experience? I bought a videomic last week tested on a few cameras and i get very audible crackling sound. the mic pick up is good but how come there is this loud crackling sound too?

ys
Yow Siang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2006, 06:39 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 153
Sony light a causes Shadow of videomic

Hi John,
I finally got the set up using the rycote extension bar and mount the sonylight and the videomic but the problem is when the light is turn on i am able to capture the shadow cast by the videomic, how do you get rid of the problem?

Thanks
yow siang
Yow Siang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network