Interval Recording/Time Lapse on Z1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2007, 06:24 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 4
Interval Recording/Time Lapse on Z1

Can the Z1 do Interval Recording or Time laps ???

I have a job coming up and the client wants me to do a 2 day times laps of stands being set up at an exhibition.

I usually hire the Z1 because my client wants the footage to be in 16.9 DV.
Sarah Staar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 03:28 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
No it cannot, your best bet would be to look into a sony 330 xdcam - they under crank nicely and you can just shoot dvcam 16:9 that way.
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 04:02 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Hi Sarah

XD would be fine, but harder to hire. You could use what I have, an HVX200 with 2 p2 cards. Set the interval for say 1 frame every minute and you would get exactly what you want. You can only record 16 minutes on the p2 cards combined but at 1 frame a second you wouldnt get anywhere near that max capability!

What is the the exhibition?

Phil

p.s. If you dont need HD I have heard the pd170 does timelapse but am not sure
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 08:08 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 591
you could also use a nikon dslr... I believe the d200 has an interval timer...
Christopher Witz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 08:41 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Chris

How would you get it into a NLE?

Phil
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 09:30 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 591
on a mac...

import the still photos to iphoto in a new folder....

open imovie .... new 1080i project.... and click on "media"... photos.... choose the folder..... select all... turn off "ken burns effect" slide time to the rabbit (.03 mins [ 18fps?]) .... hit apply..... and violla!

export as a quicktime.... import into FCP.... shift time faster if .03 mins is to slow for you.

hey phil.... looks like your buying a new cam every few months.... congrats on all the success!....
Christopher Witz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 02:52 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 4
HVR-V1E has time laps I think ???

i would like to use the DVX200 but can not hire them for reasonable money 280 per day !!! from http://www.shoothd.tv/index.html I normally pay 75 a day for a Z1....

I could use a PD150 with an anamorphic lens. The hire company i use pro motion hire in London has one.

I think Broadcast services Hire has XD Cam so this might be an option.

I think the new sony camera HVR-V1E has time laps. Any one know where i can hire one from.
Sarah Staar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 08:50 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
I didn't think the V1 could do timelapse, thought it was an HDV issue...I could be wrong.

Are there any security issues with the camera being set up for 2 days day and night?

The XDCAM HD does shoot very nice timelapse, there are some examples on my website with some HVX stuff too. I think that price for the HVX rental is very high, although I expect they are supplying you with loads of P2 cards as part of the deal as without them you just have a dv camera. Ask them if they can do you a two day price with one card?

Best,

Phil
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 09:07 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Billericay, England UK
Posts: 4,711
I'm pretty sure the V1 doesn't have timelapse, or if it does then it's a 'capture 5 frames, wait the 10 seconds, capture another 5 frames' etc. This looks horrible on screen, so you'll need to capture the footage with a program that simply keeps the first frame of every burst.

What about running into a hard drive in real time? The beauty of this is the footage can be speed ramped in post and played with to your heart's content. My footage of boats going through lock gates required vastly different intervalometer frame rates when the boats were being raised and lowered than when the gates were opening and closing.

tom.
Tom Hardwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 11:05 AM   #10
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
The V1 has an intervalometer/timelapse, but it's not as intelligent as it should/could be. It has variable time interval/capture length settings.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 11:54 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom
Chris

How would you get it into a NLE?

Phil
It would be an image sequence. Just import.
Gene Crucean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 04:26 PM   #12
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 4
VMI hire The HVX200 hire for 120 a day with no p2 cards. Can the hvx200 record time laps to tape in DV mode. The production is not HD but is 16/9

I could record to hard disc i would be a bit worried about this, maybe i could do a time laps to tape and record to hard disc in real time...

10 hours to hard disc, one file, have any of you done this before. What capture software is most reliable.

I have Edius 4 could i use this.

Would DV Rack be better.

I don't intend to film at night ..
Sarah Staar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 04:35 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
of course the problem with timelapse if you move the camera at night you are going to have a nightmare getting exactly the same spot...

I havent done HVX timelapse on tape before, it might be possible I guess but I would have to check. Can you hire 1 card from those people at all?

I personally wouldn't go down the computer live capture route, more stuff to go wrong...can you charge the clients for the hire of the hvx and one card for two days. You would get great results. Once you have the timelapse on p2 you do an in camera dub to dv tape.

Shame I cant hire you mine!

Phil
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 02:16 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Witzke
on a mac...
On a Mac, open the QuickTime Player Pro, import image sequence, save as QuickTime movie (I use PhotoJPEG settings). Job done.

My Pentax Optio 750 (before it was stolen last week) did 7 megapixels, but never needed more than 1600x1200. I could do a nice zoom/pan/rotate into the timelapse, but the limitation was that it could only do 99 images (which is 4 seconds in PAL-land).

A more studley DSLR would do 2 to 8 second exposures, perhaps. Lots of motion blur and light streaks, which is what works well.
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 05:41 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kauai, Hawaii
Posts: 75
still camera timelapse

There is an interesting article posted on Revostock on shooting timelapse with a digial still camera. It includes sample footage...here's the link.
http://www.revostock.com/ViewArticle.html?&ID=45
Hope this helps
aloha,
wz
Wayne Zebzda is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network