FX1000 True 24p ??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2009, 01:52 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
FX1000 True 24p ???

I read the spects for the Z5 and the FX1000 from B&H and they BOTH read:

In 24p mode, images from the CMOS can be 2:3 pulldown-converted and recorded onto tape in the standard 60i HDV format. The tape can then be played back or edited using an ordinary HDV system. True 24p editing can be achieved by uploading 2:3 pulldown-converted images via an i.LINK FireWire interface to a compatible non-linear editing system. The resultant images resemble the visual motion of film! The camera can also shoot in both standard 60i for richer temporal motion, as well as 30p, which is great for lifting stills.


I thought these cameras were different in the way it recorded 24p. Are they the same in recording "native".

If not how hard is it to use true 24p from the FX1000?

Thanks!
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 03:29 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Todd, I can't look for the thread in question, I don't have time right now. But this was addressed exhaustively in a thread you will find very helpful.

Do a search for 24p and FX1000 on this site and you should find the one where Chris B. answered tons of questions of mine and explained this very well. You should read the thread, once you find it, all of the way through and most of your questions will be answered if you read it carefully.

But in short yes it does record in true 24p and 30p. You simply remove the pulldown. Even if you don't it will still work as 24p, just not as easy to edit. Some use cineform neo to remove pulldown during the capturing process to avoid issues involved with leaving the pulldown in.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 05:57 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Todd, I can't look for the thread in question, I don't have time right now. But this was addressed exhaustively in a thread you will find very helpful.

Do a search for 24p and FX1000 on this site and you should find the one where Chris B. answered tons of questions of mine and explained this very well. You should read the thread, once you find it, all of the way through and most of your questions will be answered if you read it carefully.

But in short yes it does record in true 24p and 30p. You simply remove the pulldown. Even if you don't it will still work as 24p, just not as easy to edit. Some use cineform neo to remove pulldown during the capturing process to avoid issues involved with leaving the pulldown in.
Jeff,

I actually believe this is a half-truth... It's my understanding that one of the main feature differentiations between the FX1000 and the Z5 is that the Z5 is the only camera that truly will record 24 frames in a given second. I'm 99% sure, the FX1000 records the 24frames within the 60i capture and does in fact require the pulldown/telecine feature while capturing which makes it not a 'true-24fps' device. The Z5 is a "true" 24fps capture device.

Jon
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 06:20 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newbern, TN
Posts: 414
I may be wrong, but I believe the Z5 will do both....true 24p and 24p in 60i wrapper.
__________________
Tim
Tim Akin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 06:43 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
That is what's confusing. The specs for both cameras explain 24p the exact same way. I wish they made it clearer.
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 06:55 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Akin View Post
I may be wrong, but I believe the Z5 will do both....true 24p and 24p in 60i wrapper.
Yes, I do believe this is correct as well. It will do them both... FX1000 only in the 60i wrapper...
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2009, 07:14 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santa Fe, NM USA
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Akin View Post
I may be wrong, but I believe the Z5 will do both....true 24p and 24p in 60i wrapper.
Page 7 of the Z5 brochure explains both of these modes:

http://ws.sel.sony.com/PIPWebService...final10-08.pdf
Bill Ackerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 12:04 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 6
The FX1000 takes the pictures at true 24P and 30P. It has a buffer and it is saved as 60i. Ie the 30P is written twice. Every miniDVD I know of saves as 60i.

I shoot almost excusivly in 30P as I can go as low as 1/30 of a second. IE twice as much light.

Later when I render my vids they are saved as progressive. No need to blend fields and you can choose upper or lower as both fields are identical.
Michael Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 11:47 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon McGuffin View Post
the Z5 is the only camera that truly will record 24 frames in a given second. I'm 99% sure, the FX1000 records the 24frames within the 60i capture and does in fact require the pulldown/telecine feature while capturing which makes it not a 'true-24fps' device. The Z5 is a "true" 24fps capture device.

Jon
From what I understand, the Z5 (and the Z7) can shoot in the "Native Progressive" mode. That is supposed to be true (?) progressive. As opposed to the V1, FX1000 and others which are not designed to shoot in native progressive.
Greg Laves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2009, 10:10 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
Can you get to the same output from both? I guess you would have to convert one and not the other but do they end up being the same? Do you lose any resolution by converting the fx1000 to 24p that you can edit nativly?
Todd Clark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network