FX1000/Z5 noise at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: College Park, Maryland
Posts: 913
FX1000/Z5 noise

Hi Everyone,

Any of you guys notice the FX1000/Z5 is a noisy camcorder out of the box? After Tweaking a profile I was shocked at how clean it was compared to the XHA1. I actually purchased the HMC-150 and was not happy with the resolution and the codec. I have a Quad PC and Vegas 8.0c and after color correcting a few clips it was just to processor intensive for me. After regretting selling my XHA1 at that point I sent the HMC-150 back and thought I'd try the FX1000 for now and see if I can get by for a year till the next cam and I must say I'm really impressed with the Camcorder. Really good dynamic range for the chip size and pretty clean up to 9db with a tweaked profile. I could see my self using 12db and 15db under really bad situations. On the XHA1 I could not go higher than 6db. I'm pretty happy with this purchase but will miss the XLR inputs for now. I have a way around that for now. Nice sharp image and very nice LCD. Has any noticed the amount of noise out of box? Thanks

Monday
Monday Isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 01:39 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Are you talking about audio noise or video noise? I guess it doesn't matter though, as for me, actually, the answer is no to both. I do see some grain at 12dB, but audio-wise, I find the camera shockingly silent when a tape is running through it.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 01:44 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: College Park, Maryland
Posts: 913
Sorry Adam I should have clarified I mean Video Noise from increased grain out of box with no preset used.
Monday Isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 03:31 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monday Isa View Post
...After Tweaking a profile...
Monday
What were your settings?
Barron Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 04:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: College Park, Maryland
Posts: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barron Thompson View Post
Monday
What were your settings?
The Tweaked settings are
Gamma: Cine 1
Black Comp: Off
Knee Point: Low
Color Mode: Cine 2
Color Level: 0
Color Phase: 0
Color Depth: 0
WB Shift: 0
Sharpness: 5
SkinTone DTL: Off

So far I like these settings. Haven't been able to play around that much as I just received the camera today.
Monday Isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 04:53 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
I compared my xh-a1 to a fx1000 without any adjustments and was impressed as well how well usuable the fx1000 was even at very high gain values. The grain was there but much finer and less noticeable then with the canon. 6db is also the max I go with the canon but with the fx1000 it was possible to push to 18db and it looked less worse then my canon at 12db. If you say it looks much better tweaked that's pretty impressive.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2009, 08:38 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: College Park, Maryland
Posts: 913
Yeah I'm really impressed by this camcorder. After looking at the footage down-converted to DVD I can easily use 15db but when delivering BluRay I better stay at 12db max if I need to. Other wise 6db looks really good in comparison to XHA1. Starting to grow on my despite it's many limitations :/
Monday Isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2009, 01:28 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
It's with the possible high gain values it manages to get such good low light capability, that is, as long as you don't zoom in. Once you do that it looses it's sensitivity quite fast.
You can allways get it's bigger brother the z5 or Z7 if you want all the goodies the fx1000 is missing.
Noa Put is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z5 / HDR-FX1000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network