HDV from Z7E has a funny letterbox at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270
Handheld and shoulder mount versions of this Sony 3-CMOS HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 31st, 2010, 01:57 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Posts: 4
HDV from Z7E has a funny letterbox

I shot a live concert yesterday with the Z7E (set to HDV 1080p), and when i Log & Transferred it into FCS 3 and, put the video on the timeline, the video has this weird letterbox. When i play the footage in the viewer it's OK but on the time line its no good.

Thinking its a display glitch, i exported a segment from the sequence, and it looked the same.

I tried endlessly playing with the sequence settings but got to nothing.
I've attached two screenshots.

Can anybody help me?
Really appreciate the help!
Attached Thumbnails
HDV from Z7E has a funny letterbox-sequence.jpg   HDV from Z7E has a funny letterbox-canvas.jpg  

Yigal Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2010, 11:05 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
You've only posted half the pertinent info there Yigal, can you post a screenshot of the source clip's item properties too?
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 03:04 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Posts: 4
thnx

Yes, here it is
thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
HDV from Z7E has a funny letterbox-bins.jpg  
Yigal Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 06:51 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
Sorry Yigal

I should have been more specific, a Clip's Item Properties window is revealed by selecting it then pressing Cmd-9 (or choosing Edit menu > Item Properties > Format).

Your screenshot suggests that your source master clip or timeline instance has somehow had the "anamorphic" flag applied, causing the distortion displayed in the canvas, Try removing that anamorphic flag and then choosing Modify menu > Scale to Sequence, or otherwise double click the timeline instance to load it into the Viewer window, then go to the Motion tab and reset the Distort >> Aspect Ratio property to 0 (zero).

Hope it helps
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2010, 06:10 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Hi Yigal,

My guess would be to check that the "anamorphic" tickbox is checked in the properties for both the sequence and the clips. Also, make sure that you are using a 1440x1080 timeline, not a 1920x1080.

Last edited by Pete Bauer; August 2nd, 2010 at 11:24 PM. Reason: Removing redundant info after merging two cross-posted threads.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2010, 11:47 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tel-Aviv, Israel
Posts: 4
Thank you all for your replies. I tried your suggestions, but nothing worked.
In the end i just imported the footage into a new project (with the same settings actually) and it all worked.

Thank you for your time!
Yigal Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2010, 02:25 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
Sometimes it is in the "distort" settings in the same tab as "basic motion"

But if you got it to work, you got it to work.
__________________
Nothing says you're a serious video maker like S-VHS
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z7 / HVR-S270

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network