XDCAM EX with Compact Flash Recorder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2008, 07:16 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
XDCAM EX with Compact Flash Recorder

I tested the XDCAM EX with the Compact Flash Recorder from my HVR-z7
works in SP mode only. I used the bracket from the DR60 to mount it to the EX. See attached pics
Attached Thumbnails
XDCAM EX with Compact Flash Recorder-xdcamcf1.jpg   XDCAM EX with Compact Flash Recorder-xdcamcf2.jpg  

Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 08:07 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Cool. What's the model number of that recorder ?
What type of memory card goes in there ?
And what sort of price is it ?
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 08:13 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
I thought the DR60 was hard drive based?
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 09:54 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
How does the SP mode of the EX1 compare to the Z7 footage? I would expect they are pretty close.
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 10:21 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 83
Thanks Brian for testing this out! I am purchasing my EX1 Today!

I think this will at least get me recording a full event, until I can get some HDR units.
George Sickler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 03:00 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 337
Brian,

How did you get the french flag on your hood? Did you glue a cold shoe onto it? If so which one - this interests me.
__________________
Graeme
Graeme Fullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 06:59 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Key West
Posts: 247
French Flag Solution

Brian, That is a very elegant solution for your French flag! Great idea!
Also, I too am very interested in that Sony recording unit.
Best, Craig

Last edited by Craig Hollenback; February 23rd, 2008 at 10:31 AM.
Craig Hollenback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 08:40 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Hollenback View Post
Brian, That is a very elegant solution for your French flag! Is that the French flag offered by the company from India? Great idea!
Also, I too am very interested in that Sony recording unit.
Best, Craig
Ordered the french Flag from ebay glued the shoe on with a Product called GOOP the shoe mount is from Houston Camera Exchange part no RS-3111P RPS SHOEMOUNT ADAPTER item no 718977331118
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 08:44 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Hollenback View Post
Brian, That is a very elegant solution for your French flag! Is that the French flag offered by the company from India? Great idea!
Also, I too am very interested in that Sony recording unit.
Best, Craig
The CF unit is from my HVR-z7U cam it aslo works with my HC1
HVR-MRC1 Memory Recording Unit Kit . I plan on ordering another one if it is sold seperate from the Z7U
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2008, 10:48 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Apparently not...
I've never seen it available.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 08:06 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Appleton WI
Posts: 21
Since the EX1 records only in HD, not in SD, what dod you mean by "works in SP mode only"?
Tim Lenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 08:07 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Appleton WI
Posts: 21
Brian, with the CF writer attached, could you record to both the SxS and the CF at the same time?
Tim Lenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 09:02 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
I'm not Brian, but I'm using the DR60 HDD in a similar fashion, and the answers are:

- in SP only, as in HQ the HDV (i.LINK) output is cutt-off
- yes, you can set recording to i.LINK device alone, or both the SxS and i.LINK simultaneously

Hope this helps.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network