"Incomplete" Clip at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 14th, 2008, 03:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 180
"Incomplete" Clip

I pulled a bunch of footage off the cam tonight and one of the clips right in the middle of a card (thusly I'm pretty sure it's not one that spanned two cards) is marked "Incomplete" in the transfer tool.

any ideas? I can scrub through and watch it on the transfer tool, but it's refusing to import it.

Any help is, as always appreciated.
__________________
Jamie Baughman - Kilroy Films - Sony PMW EX-1 - Final Cut 2
http://www.kilroyfilms.com
Jamie Baughman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 08:01 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
I had the same thing happen to me the other day - but it was the last clip before the EX1 switched to the other card. When I checked my folders (I had copied both cards into two folders on my hard drive), the same clip is importable through the transfer tool in my next folder. I initially thought it might be in the middle of my clips, but if you click on "name" in the XDCAM transfer browser, it will sort them according to time code. I then saw that the "incomplete" clip was the last clip on that card and the same clip was there in its entirety in the next folder. The way the EX1 numbers the clips is a mystery to me.
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 09:03 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 77
Have you tried copying the files to your computer first?

M
Martin Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 09:16 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
I used the Clip Browser to copy all my files before opening the XDCAM Transfer. Or were you asking Jamie?
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2008, 09:17 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 48
Try setting "mark in and mark out" points on the bottom of the XDCAM Transfer window, just right of the viewer window
Pavlos Symeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 10:28 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Check out this Thread
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=116700
Maybe it will help you
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 11:57 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 180
Thanks a lot for all your help...

So it WAS split between to cards, but interestingly, shows up out of order in the transfer software window. So the clip looks like it was in the middle of the roll, but in fact was at the end.

Thanks again all.
__________________
Jamie Baughman - Kilroy Films - Sony PMW EX-1 - Final Cut 2
http://www.kilroyfilms.com
Jamie Baughman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 12:47 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
And if you click on "name", it will sort them in the right order.
__________________
Bill Parker
www.hindsightmedia.net
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 08:16 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 16
importing clips spanning cards

Just getting started here, so forgive me if this has been answered before.

I have a number of clips that span 2 cards to import. When I did so using the Clip Browser software, the system recognized the connection between the clip fragments during the process and automatically knitted them together to produce one complete clip on my hard drive. I just installed the XDCAM transfer software to import clips into FCP. When I try to do the same thing using this transfer software, it doesn't join the segments together - I get one clip with the first part, and a separate clip with the second segment.

So - is there any way to get the XDCAM transfer software to generate complete clips from the segments? If not, I can always do the import with Clip Browser and then convert with the transfer software, but that's an extra (long) step.

Bob P
Bob Pascucci is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network