Turning off all display on the EX3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 1st, 2008, 05:26 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney-Australia
Posts: 443
Turning off all display on the EX3

Hi all,
I am trying to use the Flash XDR with the EX3. It records everything that shows on the screen including all the display. I can turn off everything but the STBY/REC display. The only way I can get rid of the STBY/REC is to take out the sxs card. Since I would like to be able to record to both - sxs card and Flash XDR I need to have all the display turned off - does anyone can tell me how to do this?

Thanks!

Ofer Levy Nature Photographer
Ofer Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 07:29 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
That's very odd. Makes you wonder what the source for XDR really is. Surely they saw this when they were testing the device!

I'm not aware of any other means by which to turn off the STBY/REC. I don't know that it can be done.
Jay Gladwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 11:38 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 382
Video SET Menu - Page 120 EX3 Manual

I also use the EX3 HD-SDI port into my MacPro via a Multibridge Extreme. I cannot image the EX1 or EX3 HD-SDI output port behaving any differently with the Flash-XDR.

All you have to do is set the "YPbPr/SDI Out Display" to "Off" in the Video SET Menu. This will accomplish what you want while still displaying the Menu and Status info in the view finder. If all else fails, "RTM." Cheers!
Barry J. Anwender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2008, 11:20 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
Barry points to the answer.

As a professional camera it'll give you the choice to use the HD-SDI as either video out for capture or for monitor feed use. You'd find this on any professional camera.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2008, 01:28 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Seeman View Post
Barry points to the answer.

As a professional camera it'll give you the choice to use the HD-SDI as either video out for capture or for monitor feed use. You'd find this on any professional camera.
beat me to it
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 06:32 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney-Australia
Posts: 443
Thanks guys - it worked ! (-:
Ofer Levy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network