Reformat or delete all clips? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 10th, 2010, 10:38 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
Reformat or delete all clips?

So it's best for the card to reformat or delete all clips to get a truly "clean" card after dumping all clips to a hard drive?
Thanks
K
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 10:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
a reformat is not a wipe, a delete doesnt use a trashcan , so it doesnt make that much differance :-)
the suggestion has always been to use delete all clips.
deleting all CLIPS will not wipe out everything on the card. like say you have a profile or settings stored on the card, you will really tick sombody off if you format the card they have 10 hours of worked out profiles stored on :-)

also on the EX1r deleting all clips when showing only certain resolutions of clips, will not delete all, only the ones your working with and seeing at that time. so that could make a difference in what you chose, and what you lose.
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 10:49 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 75
Doug Jensen from Vortex media just released an update video for the ex1r and I remember him saying that he prefers to use delete all clips. I have been using the delete all clips since I received my ex1r.
William Graydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 11:06 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 129
I used to delete all clips but after a while I found that my max recording time on my 8GB card became reduced and I was missing out on almost 10 minutes worth of footage off the card. After reformatting the card it increased from a max recording time from 20 minutes to 28 minutes.

After that I've always used the reformat option and haven't had a problem.
__________________
Aaron Fowler
PMW-EX1 / EOS 60D / EOS 550D / FCS2 / CS4 PP
Aaron Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 11:34 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
could it have anything to do with "OK" clips? or other markings, if i remember right you have to work a little harder to delete clips that you specifically marked.
(and that should be pointed out somewhere too)
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 12:03 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 129
I don't mark clips in camera, never have, I wait for post production before I mark any of my clips. I don't keep any Picture Profiles stored on my cards or anything other than clips I shoot. I don't know what the issue was, or even if it was reoccurring... All I know is that I haven't had to deal with this issue since I started using the reformat option.
__________________
Aaron Fowler
PMW-EX1 / EOS 60D / EOS 550D / FCS2 / CS4 PP
Aaron Fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 12:09 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
And i too would lean to that side, of wanting to shift the keepers like profiles and settings, and do a full format, no guessing or hoping. then put the keepers back on the card.
having even a few minutes of missing space for a long shoot could mean using another $$$ chip for little to no reason , or it splitting to another for no reason.
while they handle the split to other media well, i dont see giving a machine another opertunity to do something that might not work well in all situations.
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 06:56 AM   #8
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,483
I have couple of cards that haven't been re-formatted in over a year, and they still provide me full capacity. I prefer to delete all clips because it keeps my camera data file intact and doesn't rename the card to "untitled". All my cards have custom names so I know which one I'm looking at on my computer, and I don't like to lose the names.

Doug
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network