reformat sdhc cards in camera ... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2010, 03:01 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
reformat sdhc cards in camera ...

I've got a problem ... I have 2 32gb sdhc cards that are sandisk extremes. They worked on the ex3 and then I foolishly reformatted the cards in a mac as fat. The camera tells me to change cards and will not re-format ? Any ideas on how to wipe the card clean so that the camera will format?
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 04:08 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Can you not reformat them in a pc first, then reformat in camera ?

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 04:24 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Paul ...

I think ... read this somewhere ... the pc/mac formats fat but the computer also writes something in bios which makes the ex camera not respond to re-format? I'd love to find a solution for this as I have 2 32gb cards in this condition.
I did actually re-format several times in the computer ... erased ... reformatted in fat. This didn't change anything.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 06:03 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: East Bay Cali
Posts: 563
i had heard of that before, but i dont have that problem yet, format in fat32 with large clusters ?? dont use the lame formatter in Winders systems, go for the "disk manager" (known to be in "administration" tools) where you can select everything.
__________________
----------------sig-----------------
Re-learning everything all over again, one more time.
Marty Welk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 06:12 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
windows ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Welk View Post
i had heard of that before, but i dont have that problem yet, format in fat32 with large clusters ?? dont use the lame formatter in Winders systems, go for the "disk manager" (known to be in "administration" tools) where you can select everything.
Marty ... I guess you are referring to a windows environment? I shall try formatting on a windows machine today or tomorrow ... have to get one first.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2010, 06:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 140
Try reformatting the card as FAT32, not FAT. In the windows world, FAT = FAT16 (not FAT32). Don't know what it would mean in the Apple world.

Another alternative is to try using a partition manager, such as 7Tools.
John Hedgecoe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network