Class 4 working fine? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2010, 04:42 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
Class 4 working fine?

Hi again, very busy with my new PMW 350's at the moment... Using the MxR converter with it, working flawlessly... So, browsing the boards and according to E-films you have to use class 6 cards (some say you have to go class 10) even for normal (no slomo) use. I'm currently forced to use class 4 (no availability this weekend and I need to shoot), and it's working perfect. I've shot 2 cards of 16GB already without any problems. Am I missing something? Or is the class hype a bit of a non discussion with standard recording?

By the way: I record in 1080P with 4 channels of audio.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2010, 04:48 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
Oh, and by the way, I'm using not a known brand as well, just a "ell cheapo" card from a computer store around here.
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2010, 04:59 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
You may want to read this post of mine here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/sony-xdc...ml#post1520585
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2010, 05:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
Thanks Piotr, just read it. Couple of questions then:

1. How many times did you use the cards witch finally came up with errors? (I'm intending to use them once, since I'd like to have a hard backup on the shelf of all my footage, this is what i'm used to do with tape/xdcam, so that's why i'd like a cheap option...)
2. The cards with the errors when connected to your PC, did they play back in the camera?
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2010, 05:59 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Vincent,

ad 1. Not many times at all - just in a couple of larger projects. Otherwise, I was mainly using the 32GB card.

ad 2. They do show the "media needs to be restored" error while trying to play a corrupted clip in the EX1 playback mode. I know only because I checked after getting the errors on the PC; usually I do not use this mode at all. BTW, in playback mode the suggestion of this error message cannot be executed.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network