Moving all events on all tracks at once at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 23rd, 2007, 08:44 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Moving all events on all tracks at once

With 5 complete tracks with multiple events, edited & stacked vertically, Is there a shortcut way of highlighting or selecting all events on all tracks so I can move everything to the left from a middle point to insert another event in one track, and adjust it for length, fade in, etc. on its right, & then pull everything back to this new event and adjust its fade on the left. Obviously I need to keep everything down the timeline in sync. on all tracks so it's not just a matter of inserting & rippling into a track but having all clips on all tracks moved down - (offset) by this one event in just one track.

In the manual it refers to right clicking & choosing "Select Events to end" , but when I do this it only moves everything in the one track. I simply need to be able to "select all", to the right of the cursor & drag the lot both ways. Surely I don't need to use a selection method & go all down the time-line selecting every event. - Again, (Sorry), all this is a snack in Premiere, just one mouse click & Voila !
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 09:26 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Select events to end really only works on an individual track. This one simple task frustrated me so much that I created the "Select Events" tool in Excalibur - just so I could quickly select ALL events after the cursor.

Here's some ways you can do this, though.

1. Use Ripple Editing set to affect EVERYTHING - this can be better controlled if you use "Post Ripple Editing".

2. If you wanting to insert a blank area, use Insert - Time

3. Use the "Event Selection tool", zoom out on the timeline, select the events you want selected, and then you can move them all at once.

So there are ways to do this but my personal favorite is still the script method.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 09:40 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Many thanks Edward.

I like you, I am amazed that a great program like Vegas has not addressed this most vital of moves in a simple way, particularly when it has been in Premiere for about the last 10 years. When I first started with Premiere years ago, this was one of my first questions to the chap who was helping me at the time and it was so easy, just one click & you could shuffle everything in sync. Do you know if V8 has addressed this ?
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 11:00 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
In regards to this, everything is the same in Vegas 8. I still use a script - single button click and I'm done.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 12:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
I don't know about scripts. Looks like the learning slope is getting steeper.
At the moment I am struggling to do a rolling credit. It seems obvious that it has been designed by a commitee !
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 12:24 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Take a look at Vol 2 #9 and Vol 4 #2 of my newsletters - both talk about creating credit rolls.

Some of the other newsletters talk about scripts as well. There are many free scripts available and a few commercial scripts. Here's a free one that will do that task for you:

http://www.jetdv.com/scripts/SelectEventsAfterCursor.cs
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 12:25 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Cooper View Post
Many thanks Edward.

I like you, I am amazed that a great program like Vegas has not addressed this most vital of moves in a simple way, particularly when it has been in Premiere for about the last 10 years. When I first started with Premiere years ago, this was one of my first questions to the chap who was helping me at the time and it was so easy, just one click & you could shuffle everything in sync. Do you know if V8 has addressed this ?
I think I understand whats being asked. If I want to move everything on all tracks, or on one track or on several adjacent track, I go to tool bar, select the tool with the arrow and the dotted box, use that to highlight everything I want moved, then move it by by holding down left mouse key... Is that the question.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 01:18 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
That was my #3 above. However, I still think the script option is easier. Just put my cursor before what I want to move, run the script (a single button click because I put it on the toolbar), and click and move the events.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 05:17 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
I think I understand whats being asked. If I want to move everything on all tracks, or on one track or on several adjacent track, I go to tool bar, select the tool with the arrow and the dotted box, use that to highlight everything I want moved, then move it by by holding down left mouse key... Is that the question.
Thanks again ( & again Edward) & Chris. Yes Chris, this is it but in my case "frought with danger". If I try this method, there's a chance I may make one little slip in carefully selecting, & hours of sound editing & syncing are lost, but worst still, I may not know it until I am reviewing it miles down the timeline and find a tiny clip out of whack. I am about to try Edward's link which looks most encouraging.

Why can't they just provide a simple one click to "Select-all, -Right", (as Premiere has had for about 10 years ! ) We should introduce Mr. Vegas to Edward.

Roll on Version 10!!
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 07:44 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: El Paso
Posts: 35
Ron, I understand your concern about the "danger" involved in doing this. If you haven't already thought about it make sure you make a copy of the project ("save as") just prior to trying the script or whatever method you use. Then, if something does happen to go wrong, you can at least go back to where you are now.
Jim Day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 09:55 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Excellent point Jim I hadn't thought about that.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2007, 11:51 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
If you make a mistake, you can just use 'undo' and you are back where you were. You haven't lost anything until you save. Nothing to sweat about...
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2007, 02:08 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 193
You should familarise yourself with the Ripple Tool as Ed suggested.

First, try auto ripple (turn on by clicking the icon above timeline). If you drag an event to the right, you will see every event which starts at the same time or later will move with the chosen event. You can create a gap maybe slightly larger than you need, insert the new event, place and trim it as required, then drag the originally moved event back to exactly where you want it. Normally moving blocks of events to the left is not such a good idea, especially if your project starts at 0:00:00, whereas moving to the right has unlimited space ....

As Edward said, Post Edit ripple gives you more manual control and achieves exactly the same effect. Drag the first event you want to move to the right, then press Ctrl/Shift F. The whole part of the project that starts with the moved event will now move and stay in synch.
Peter Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network