So what if I miss this upgrade? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2007, 07:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
So what if I miss this upgrade?

I've been editing with Vegas 7 on a Asus Deluxe Board with three Hard drive and a Intel 2.4 duo core.
I have absolutely no problem. Vegas is working like a charm on my machine.
For 150 bucks it's extremely tempting to upgrade, but what I'm reading on this forum scares me.
Ok, if I miss the upgrade how much will I pay later for the full Vegas 8 version? 300 bucks? Frankly, I have the feeling that it might be worth waiting.
What do you think?
Larry
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 07:41 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I have the same hardware as you do. I've upgraded and very happy I have.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 08:14 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I believe the price goes up $100 if you don't upgrade within the next two days.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 09:39 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 313
A few days ago I upgraded from 7 to 8 and so far no problems. But, I ran the rendertest-hdv veg and V8 took a little bit longer time to render than V7. I tried several ram and thread settings and the decrease in speed from V7 tracked each time.

I think for the price the upgrade is well worth it, if for no other reason than to stay current. And the new titler, as different as it is, will do everything I need and more. I just wish the interface could have been more consistent with Vegas. I feel like I'm using a 3rd party plug-in when I use the ProType titler.
David Jasany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 10:25 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can have both versions on your computer at the same time.

2- The Protype titler interface is definitely different... but it does allow you to do some things not possible in the old Vegas-style way of working (e.g. more control over keyframes, ability to interact with multiple layers at once).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2007, 05:13 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 321
does anyone know if I can order from the UK and if so will I need to pay import duty?

cheers
Fergus Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 06:51 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 177
I ordered and received in three days. I am from the Netherlands an didn't have to pay import duty. So that shouldn't be the problem for you i guess.
Hubert Duijzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 09:09 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Secrest View Post
I have absolutely no problem. Vegas is working like a charm on my machine.
Larry
I had planned to wait for 9, but didn't. Many may be using with no problems, but I am not one.

You answer your own question. I feel especially dumb reading your post, because I was in your situation. Running Vegas with no problems, doing just great, then I upgraded to 8 despite the complaints from SO many people. So I spent $150 for a Titler that causes my computer to freeze, and on every project I have issues with viewing the timeline, etc.

In fact, by all rights how can anyone that has been warned even complain as I have done?

The BEST thing about the upgrade I have heard is that for some people it doesn't cause their computer to crash. Wow. I have heard no rave reviews on the Titler, not one. Some say it's OK, but generally that is about it.

If you are like me you will get the upgrade and you will be lucky or unlucky, but if you see any benefits other than it doesn't cause you to crash, my hats off to you.

Good Luck!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 10:17 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 118
I don't think Customs charge import tax on software, but they will get you for VAT. If you have the software couriered, be prepared that you may get hit by this charge on delivery along with a handling charge. VAT was automatically added at the checkout when I got my download upgrade.
Robert Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2007, 05:34 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 107
I made the jump from 6 to 8, so maybe I don't count, but just the handling of HD files in 8 has made it so worth it.
Rob Gregory-Browne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 09:01 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Hey Fergus,

Just go for the download only version. I know it's nice to have the box but....it just ends up sitting in a cupboard or a shelf gathering dust.

I'm on the fence as well. What puts me off is again the lukewarm reaction to the Pro Titler and the fact that if I hear correctly, Magic Bullet doesn't work on it either (correct me if I'm wrong).
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 10:50 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 321
Hey Alistair

Cheers mate. Went for the download only version as like you say I dont need the box or CD really.

I've had no major problems - just about to test magic bullet...
Fergus Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 11:47 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 321
Magic bullet look suite and misfire seem fine to me - not done extensive testing or tried deartifactor yet though.
Fergus Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 12:54 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 397
Ok

Well, after reading all this I'll pass on this upgrade until they have bug free version, frankly after spending 3200 bucks on a cam, 1200 on lights, and build a computer for 1200, why should I rush to save 100 bucks on a software that might be buggy, eh?
larry
Larry Secrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2007, 05:02 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergus Anderson View Post
Magic bullet look suite and misfire seem fine to me - not done extensive testing or tried deartifactor yet though.
Damn you Fergus........you just shoved me off the fence!
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network