PAL and crossfade numbers... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2007, 12:59 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
PAL and crossfade numbers...

I work in PAL, so why when I do a cross fade, do the numbers run up to 29 before going over to seconds? Shouldn't they only run up to 24?
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2007, 04:31 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Southport - UK
Posts: 207
Hi Renton

I don't have Vegas on the computer I'm working on at the moment - but could it be anything to do with the timeline settings - I think it's a tab in the project properties somehwere?

Ian
Ian Briscoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 12:32 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Just right click on the timeline and there are a LOAD of choices. Strange though, I would have thought this would have changed to match the project properties?
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 03:21 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastair Brown View Post
Just right click on the timeline and there are a LOAD of choices. Strange though, I would have thought this would have changed to match the project properties?
So would I. Not sure what LOAD of options you are referring to.
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 03:53 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Renton, right click with the cursor actually on the timeline numbers (see picture).

You'll find Alastair's 'LOADS' there! I guess you'd probably want Time & Frames or maybe SMPTE EBU.

Certainly when I just tried it the frame numbering *does* change if you change the projects properties from, say, NTSC to PAL. Perhaps it defaults to last used setting? Yeah, it does, just checked.

Cheers,

Ian . . .
Attached Thumbnails
PAL and crossfade numbers...-timecode.jpg  
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 11:24 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Thanks Ian, I got it to change after your explanation...
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2007, 02:28 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Any time.

Looking at the NTSC options I am SO happy we're in PAL land!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network