Vegas help! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2008, 04:25 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 217
Vegas help!

I need a little help. First I edited a project thats 35 min and came out great but I need to add anothe title at the end so would I have to re-render the whole timeline again?
Also When I go to dvd program why does it render again before I burn a disk? If I already rendered in vegas should the dvd portion render faster?
Thanks
Joe Bowey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 04:41 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
OK, I don't know which version of Vegas you have but I have some limited experience with 7e.

If you add something (like a title or extra scene) at the end of your Vegas project then yes, at least in 7, I think you have to render it all again. I have a feeling that the new Vegas 8 will not re-render stuff that is already in the desired format - but I might be wrong on that.

Regarding DVD Architect. No it should not have to re-render before burning as, assuming you rendered it beforehand (in Vegas) in a DVDA compatible format (see the drop-down list in render options in Vegas) then it should be fine. All it does is prepare the file for burning and it might have to convert the audio to AC3 or whatever - a quick thing normally... but of course that depends on what your project settings were done as originally.

Without more info I can't really offer more help but hope this makes sense!
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 08:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 217
I have version 7. So if I rendered the video in vegas then went to dvda to make a dvd with theme and background music I don't have to render it again?
Joe Bowey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 09:31 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 145
Yes you will have to re-render the project.
DVDA rerenders any video file that is not mpeg-2
If you initially render your video to mpeg-2 then it will render faster in dvda

*I might be wrong but i heard this a long time ago

I try not to use dvda if I don't have to...not a fan of the program. Love vegas dislike dvda.

I make the videos in Vegas then burn them on my Mac!
Jason Boyette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 09:51 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
As long as you render a DVD-compliant MPEG-1 or 2 file and a PCM (WAV) or AC-3 file that meets specs, there won't be any additional rendering in DVD Architect.
If you're still puzzled about the proper steps, I recommend reading Vol. 1 Issue 7 of Edward Troxel's newsletters as it deals with this issue.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network