Newbie to Vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:38 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Shelton, CT USA
Posts: 125
Newbie to Vegas

Hello.
I just purchased and installed Vegas 8.0b and started playing with it this morning. I have been using Avid Liquid for the past few years and am used to its workflow and features but decided to try Vegas - mainly for HD.

One thing right off the bat I noticed is that you cannot have multiple timelines (sequences in Liquid) per project but a project has only one timeline and you need to create new projects for new timelines. Then you can import the projects into a master timeline. Is this the case?

In Liquid you have unlimited sequences per project and you can pull these sequences into a master sequence.

Thanks
Jim
Jim Bucciferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:45 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
Multiple timelines ? Do you mean multiple "video" tracks and "audio" tracks ?
If so the i think vegas pro 8 allows unlimited tracks.
On the left of the timeline,where you have controls for each track,go underneath the bottom track,into that empty space,right click your mouse,and now you have the option of adding more tracks.I hope this is what you mean.
Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 10:56 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Shelton, CT USA
Posts: 125
Multiple Timelines

Paul,
No. What I mean is multiple timelines per project. I can add tracks easily but if I want to create another timeline do I have to create a new project?

In Liquid you can have multiple timelines per project.

Thanks
Jim
Jim Bucciferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 11:27 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Jim, first of all, welcome to the wondeful world of both Vegas and this forum :-)

Sorry but Vegas doesn't have a "multiple timelines" option.
As you suspected, you need to have multiple copies of Vegas open and work between them.

I'd also suggest looking into using "nested vegs".
For example, I do a graduation video for my kids' grade school each year.
It's broken into 5 separate segments.
Each one is worked on independently and then a fnal master is done.
When all 5 segments are done, I start a new project and, instead of importing all the media, I import the 5 veg files and drop them on the timeline.
The beauty of doing this is that I can still edit each veg file if needed by right-clicking on it and selecting "open as new project" (or something like that).
Make the change(s), save it and the master project is instantly updated.

Be advised that nested vegs come in as one video track and one stereo audio track (5.1 isn't supported yet), no matter how many tracks the original veg had.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 01:58 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,771
Jim,

Just curious, why would you want to have multiple timelines in the same project? What are you doing with them?
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 02:11 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Shelton, CT USA
Posts: 125
Multiple Timelines

Garret,
Well, in Liquid, your project encapsulates everything about what you're doing with all of the video. It keeps everything together. I can create another sequence and still have all my video assets in the project.

Is there a way to transfer media and video assets between projects?

So in Vegas you have to have multiple instances running. How is this on the system resources?

Jim
Jim Bucciferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 03:16 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,771
By assets do you mean video effects, color plugins etc?

If so you can click on the clip that contains the FX's you want, do a Ctrl C (co copy) then highlite the clip you want to transfer it to, then on the edit pull down menu there's a "Paste Event Attributes". If this is what you're trying to accomplish.

As far as multiple instances, it isn't too bad on the system. As long as you don't leave the clip running (playing in the preview window) it works without a noticeable slow down. I usually don't use nested projects because that does seem to slowdown my machine. Also, as Mike mentioned, it only pulls in the bus channels. I usually work on a scene then copy and paste it into the final compiled project. It carries all edits, FX's, etc. and I get all the video and Audio tracks in my final project.

The dissadvantage is if I decide to reedit the scene I have to pull it back in. But as they say, there's a million ways to skin a cat.
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2008, 05:31 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hooper, UT
Posts: 177
Jim,
I'm wondering if you can get what you want (all resources in one project for multiple edits) by just muting the tracks you are not using and starting the new tracks (I call them timelines) below, above, to the right (or left for that matter) of the muted tracks, then highlight what your want to render when ready? Another option might be to save the .veg with a new name which should include the references to media in the new bin and edit the new portion. I usually work on parts, render to .avi, then assemble the .avi's into a master file for final touches and final render (which goes very fast since almost everything is already rendered). Hope some of this helps.
Randy
Randy Stewart is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network