resampling effect but not on entire clip at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 26th, 2008, 11:12 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
resampling effect but not on entire clip

I've found the effect (resample) I want but it seems that it puts the resample on every part of that clip.

How do I split it and put it just on the section I split out?
Kevin Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2008, 12:37 AM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Richard View Post
I've found the effect (resample) I want but it seems that it puts the resample on every part of that clip.
Where is this? I can't see this in Video FX pane? I know of the Samrt/Force/Disable resample as part of the Video Event Properties as too the undersampling rate adjustment? If you are employing an adjust, via the Video Event Properties, then yes, this will be a global effect to ALL of the event. Splitting will confine the resampling adjusts to just the sections split off. If you don't like the idea of a "split" event, I can imagine occasions where this will be problematic, then use a subclip and adjust its "resample" status and undersampling rates within that.

Now, if you tell me where this "Resample FX" is, then you can surely keyframe any FX, and at the event level, to the point/s where you want it to happen.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2008, 12:44 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Sorry... you are right UNDERSAMPLING is what I meant... woops! :)

How would I make this subclip?

I think I've decided to just go oldschool and undersample the whole thing but I am still curious at how to just do it to a 5 second spot of a 45 second clip.
Kevin Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2008, 01:37 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Richard View Post
How would I make this subclip?

For plain Subclip Creation: Resize Event > Right click > Create Subclip. This would get you a subclip.

But for your other request, for a 5 second in a 45 second Event, I'd do the following:

For 5 Second Slice Subclip Creation: Select Event > Place cursor at 10 seconds > Hit "S" > Pull out Loop Selection for 5 seconds - you can read off an additional 5 secs within the "Selection End" pane > Hit "S" again. There you have 5 seconds split out. Right-Click on the the 5 second slice and do the "Create Subclip" and THEN apply the undersampling rate just to the 5 seconds slice.

HTH

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2008, 03:28 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 268
Doh! I knew that... just been a while since I've really been behind the wheel in Vegas... Seems like I'm down to about 1 project a year these days... oh well.
Kevin Richard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network