Analog Passthrough via GL2 to Vegas DV Capture at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2008, 12:24 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Analog Passthrough via GL2 to Vegas DV Capture

Long title, annoying problem. I am attempting to test the analog pass through of the GL2 using Sony Vegas to record footage via the firewire connection. The connections look like this:

VCR out via RCA -> RCA inputs on GL2 with GL2 set to VCR mode -> GL2 menu option "VCR Set Up" with "AVtoDV" turned on -> GL2 firewire out to PC firewire -> Vegas DV Capture app running in DV mode and connected to the IEE1394 device.

The Vegas DV Capture app flashes a second (or less) of whatever is playing on the VCR (which in this case is actually the VASST Media Manager DVD because it happened to be the closest media available). The problem is the media capture app returns to the "reconnect the device" blue screen after that quick flash. THe GL2 displays the source just fine, so I assume

So the question is why isn't the DV capture app staying with the source? I assume it has something to do with missing time code data (because an analog source wouldn't have any). But I have looked all through the menus and cannot find something that says "record with out time code" or "don't record unless time code"

Am I just not looking in the correct location for this menu option? Or is there a problem somewhere else in the DV Capture app / GL2?
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2008, 12:40 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Turn off "Device Control" in the capture preferences. It's attempting to play the tape even though there may not even be a tape in the camera.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Bingo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Turn off "Device Control" in the capture preferences. It's attempting to play the tape even though there may not even be a tape in the camera.
FTW! Thanks. I also figured out why I wasn't getting stereo audio and I was just about to post about this problem........ I had left the mic input level at 0 for L channel so the GL2 was just ignoring that input.

Thanks again Edward.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network