Clip Greif at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2008, 11:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 183
Clip Greif

When I open a .veg file that was created on another computer (all .m2t files are present on this computer) the file requests that I point it to each of over 400 .m2t files individually. This happens despite the fact that the target it's looking for is accurate as far as file name and path.

While I did move the .veg and all .m2t files from the other computer to this one, I kept the structure perfectly in tact and references seem to be looking in the correct location, but vegas wants me to point to all of them again anyway.

Help!
Jonathan Gentry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2008, 11:41 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Can you not use the option to let Vegas find the files (search for missing files)?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2008, 02:39 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Vegas see's it as being moved. When the menu comes up to search for the clips - go to that location and highlight all of the clips being used then sit back and wait while Vegas brings them back in. Yeah it's a PITA but I don't know any other way to do it.

Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2008, 06:23 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Gentry View Post
When I open a .veg file that was created on another computer (all .m2t files are present on this computer) the file requests that I point it to each of over 400 .m2t files individually. This happens despite the fact that the target it's looking for is accurate as far as file name and path.

While I did move the .veg and all .m2t files from the other computer to this one, I kept the structure perfectly in tact and references seem to be looking in the correct location, but vegas wants me to point to all of them again anyway.

Help!
this happens to me every time I move my videos from archive to working drives. Nothing to do but what Don referenced. THe first file it asks for, I use the option o point to which file it needs, and then Vegas automatically fills in (or attempts to) the paths for the rest of the media.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 10:56 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 183
OK.. the first several clips it asks for are not part of the actual timeline and are not needed. So I can't point to them. Now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Robinson View Post
this happens to me every time I move my videos from archive to working drives. Nothing to do but what Don referenced. THe first file it asks for, I use the option o point to which file it needs, and then Vegas automatically fills in (or attempts to) the paths for the rest of the media.
Jonathan Gentry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 11:43 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Gentry View Post
OK.. the first several clips it asks for are not part of the actual timeline and are not needed. So I can't point to them. Now what?
if you know they aren't needed, just individually ignore just the files you know you don't need, till you see a request fora file that you do need. then point to the new location.

once you are able to load up the project, go to the project media tab and view all media. then sort by name. either at the top or bottom of the list will be a bunch of "grayed out" media references. these are all the clips that are not found. select them all and right mouse click and choose the "Remove from project" option if these media are actually not used.
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 12:42 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 183
My descrition has been lacking.

I see the Opening project bar (bottom right) go to 55% then it stops. After a minute it shoots to 100%.
I then get a request for location of sevaral .wma files which are not needed or on my computer. I select Ignore and leave offline.
Next I get a slightly different window and a request to specify the location of a replacement file. There are alot of .m2t files (about 400 of them) and despite the fact that they are all in the path shown at the top of the of the request box I am asked to specify a replacement for each. I do so but am repeatedly asked for the next 400 files. Needless to say I have not pointed to 400 files due to time.

If at any point I select "Ignore error and leave media file offline" I then get an error "Sony File Interface Surrogate (not visible) has stopped working." A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."

I wonder if this has to do with Vista permissions or something like that.

I'm using Vegas 8.1.
Jonathan Gentry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 12:56 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If the files are NOT part of the timeline, after opening the project (ignoring the missing files) go to the Project Media tab and tell it to remove all items that are not part of the project. The button is on the left side and looks like a lightening bolt.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 06:14 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 183
I want to thank you sir! I did that and then pointed the first file this time and yes to all and all media was found. Now it's building peaks. The lightning bolt did the trick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
If the files are NOT part of the timeline, after opening the project (ignoring the missing files) go to the Project Media tab and tell it to remove all items that are not part of the project. The button is on the left side and looks like a lightening bolt.
Jonathan Gentry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 08:10 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Any time you add anything to the project, it's also placed in the project media. If you then remove it from the timeline, it remains in the Project Media. Sounds like you did that to a BUNCH of files.

If it can't find any file in the Project Media, it will then look for that file. It doesn't care whether or not the file is actually used - just that the file is in the Project Media. By cleaning out the Project Media, it will no longer look for missing files that are NOT a part of the timeline.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network