New Vegas Upgrade at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 2nd, 2003, 09:54 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
New Vegas Upgrade

Check the Vegas website

http://mediasoftware.sonypictures.co...p2.asp?DID=447

Vegas 4.0e is available to upgrade your original, out of the box Vegas 4.0a.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 11:24 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas 4.0e and Vegas 4.0d are almost identical. The main difference is that Vegas 4.0e says "Sony" on the spash screen and in a few other areas.

If you are not bothered by any of the following problems, the upgrade is NOT a requirement.

URL flip metadata commands are now supported when rendering to RealMedia 9.

A bug has been fixed that caused gain reduction when track envelopes are used and the pan mode was set to Constant Power.

A bug that prevented Vegas from closing some DV files has been fixed.

A bug has been fixed that could cause Vegas to crash when pressing the Down Arrow key when the Master bus fader has focus.




If you DO upgrade to "e" (instead of "d"), be aware that some scripts may be "broken". I've had to work out a fix for Tsunami to work with either 4.0d OR 4.0e. Excalibur works with either with no changes needed.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 01:23 PM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Which things don't work anymore Ed? I'm using a custom script
for our Lady X work....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 02:25 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Edward, would this gain change bug be the probelem I experienced I had various envelops on my tracks, but I had the problem that when I composited my 16:9 mask over my 4:3 footage, the contrast would seem to increase. The image got "darker".

Doesn't sound like the identical problem, but Iwill upgrade and see if it help.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2003, 03:13 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Rob, the only things that "broke" were anything relating to effects with the "Sonic Foundry" name. They now have to reference the "Sony" name to be found.

It was really a fairly minor change. For example, instead of looking for "Sonic Foundry Border", in 4.0e you have to look for "Sony Border".

Specifically, Video Wall, PIP, and Rotating Pic had to be updated to compensate for this change.


Aaron, I don't know if your problem would be related to that fix or not.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 09:29 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 345
Since I installed the 4.e update, everytime Vegas is started it wants internet access and it transmits/receives some info after that. I have the official bought version of the software so I won't mind, but what's happening during this data-transfer?
__________________
Peter / Orphic Film
www.orphicfilm.nl and www.myspace.com/orphicfilm
Peter Sieben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 09:31 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
There is an option under preferences you can change so I wont connect to the net. Installing the upgrade maybe reset some settings back to default.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 09:55 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas automatically checks to see if there is an "update". As Glen said, just go to Options - Preferences and turn off "Use Net Notify to stay informed about Sony products" (I assume "Sonic Foundry" was changed to "Sony" there as well)
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 09:57 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Glen Elliott : Installing the upgrade maybe reset some settings back to default. -->>>

Since 4.0e installs in an entirely different directory with, presumably, an entirely different set of registry entries, I wouldn't be surprised if ALL settings are set to default.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 10:05 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Ouch that stinks- so when you do the upgrade to 4.0e you'll essentially have 2 sets of Vegas 4 on your machine?! A bit sloppy if you ask me- kinda like Adobe "upgrades".
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 11:02 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 345
Are you that it installs to a different directory? A quick look on my own harddisk doesn't show that.

I've found the update function, it was turned on. I didn't knew this feature was present in Vegas and I never got any messages or pop-ups before, saying that an update is available or that Vegas wants to connect to the net. So the option was turned on by the update I pressume.

Peter
__________________
Peter / Orphic Film
www.orphicfilm.nl and www.myspace.com/orphicfilm
Peter Sieben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2003, 11:07 AM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
<<<-- Originally posted by Peter Sieben : Are you that it installs to a different directory? A quick look on my own harddisk doesn't show that.

I've found the update function, it was turned on. I didn't knew this feature was present in Vegas and I never got any messages or pop-ups before, saying that an update is available or that Vegas wants to connect to the net. So the option was turned on by the update I pressume.

Peter -->>>


Yes. It installs into a "Sony" directory instead of a "Sonic Foundry" directory.

The update function has been there for years and is turned ON by default. If your previous install was turned off, you turned it off.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2003, 10:54 AM   #13
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
So Edward, does this mean it also has problems loading old
projects from the previous versions that are using filters with
the Sonic Foundry name in it??
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2003, 12:15 PM   #14
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No problems that I am aware of. I'm sure everyone would have been screaming if that was the case. As for scripting, the problem came because the script was specifically looking for "Sonic Foundry" and now it is "Sony" so a match was not found.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2003, 12:50 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 345
Rob,

I've been upgrading to the 'e' version during a large videoproject. I had no problems. The only event that occured was mentioned before in this thread.

Peter
__________________
Peter / Orphic Film
www.orphicfilm.nl and www.myspace.com/orphicfilm
Peter Sieben is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network