Vegas .avi ugliness. What am I doing wrong at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2009, 06:46 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
Vegas .avi ugliness. What am I doing wrong

I'm working on a project where I shot in 30F (XHA1) and it renders great to wmv. I have similar examples in 24F as well. I was wanting to render to avi to xfer to another system so I rendered to HDV 720-30P intermediate (or HDV 1080-24P intermediate), and I get speckled, streaked images (see attachment). How do I avoid this and get a lossless image to xfer in Vegas?
Attached Thumbnails
Vegas .avi ugliness.  What am I doing wrong-aviugliness.jpg  
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2009, 05:41 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
Anybody out there some great input?
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2009, 09:31 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Shealy View Post
Anybody out there some great input?
It looks like interlacing artifacts to me.

Were you resizing?

What were your project properties and render setting?

This may be helpful:

Real time video scaling

Try a rough cut in m2t and then render using the cineform video for windows template. Keep the original full frame size. You can always re frame later.

John
John Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 05:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
The project was 720-30P and I was rendering to 1080-30P intermediate HDV avi. For some reason Vegas doesn't have a 1080-30P project setting, but it does have 1080-24??

The Cineform for windows you mentioned, that doesn't seem to be a render option in Vegas 8. Is that a different piece of software?
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 06:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 39
Choose Custom for avi and in the Video window choose Cineform from the "Video format" dropdown list.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Shealy View Post
The project was 720-30P and I was rendering to 1080-30P intermediate HDV avi. For some reason Vegas doesn't have a 1080-30P project setting, but it does have 1080-24??

The Cineform for windows you mentioned, that doesn't seem to be a render option in Vegas 8. Is that a different piece of software?
__________________
Ike
Ike Tamigian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:03 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 686
Roger,

Did you ever resolve this problem?

John
John Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 11:00 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
I haven't rendered with your settings yet. I hope to give it a try tonight or Thursday. I may have another "out" by rendering to AVC and sending that to the other party, even if the avi fix doesn't work.

Thanks for your help and following up!
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 02:47 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
That actually looks like lost data. Does it happen every time in the same places? If it was coming from tape I would say it was a dropout. Are you using an external drive for this?

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 03:30 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
Ron,

It's not tape, items in the timeline as well as renders to wmv, avc, mpeg look great.
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 05:33 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,943
I realized its no tape but the image looks just like a tape dropout caused by loss of data. That's why I asked if it was going to an external drive that was not fast enough to record the data rate.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 07:31 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 772
John,

The problem still continues. I get good renders in other formats, but HDV .avi, even with your instructions, yields yucko.
Roger Shealy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network