Will Vegas 8 split scenes in already captured footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2009, 02:23 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Will Vegas 8 split scenes in already captured footage

I got a 45 minute long AVI from an editor, which probably has 75-100 different shots on it, lumped into one big file. Does Vegas 8 have any way of splitting this file up for me, or can it only do that while capturing?

Thanks!
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 02:27 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Couper View Post
I got a 45 minute long AVI from an editor, which probably has 75-100 different shots on it, lumped into one big file. Does Vegas 8 have any way of splitting this file up for me, or can it only do that while capturing?

Thanks!
I bet you would have to split the file by putting regions around each scene, and then render out as AVI to get individual files for each scene. Not an ideal solution.

That is the only idea I have.

You might also be able to create sub-clips based on each scene in the single AVI. Then you might be able to reference the sub-clips on the timeline instead of the single big file.

I don't know if that is of any benefit to you.

What do you need the individual AVIs for?
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:12 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Robinson View Post
What do you need the individual AVIs for?
Thanks for the suggestions Jason. Actually I only want them split up for simplicity of editing. If Vegas can automatically mark scene splits as different regions, that would probably work well enough?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:16 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento, Elk Grove. Calif
Posts: 305
I don't think it will "automatically" do it. I think that you will have to manually split each scene.
__________________
Puttin the wet stuff on the red stuff!
Terry Esslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 04:00 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
I'd better charge for an extra bottle of editing juice (Scotch) then...
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2009, 01:11 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Couper View Post
Thanks for the suggestions Jason. Actually I only want them split up for simplicity of editing. If Vegas can automatically mark scene splits as different regions, that would probably work well enough?
Best bet is to load up the file in the trimmer. You can mark region areas in the file - which is always a good idea for later skimming through the original media file - but there's no need to render out the cuts/scenes - just for editing purposes. Just use the trimmers ability to create subclips. Subclips are marked areas within an orignal media clip which you use just like files, but the clips are really just references to those regions in the original media - and they're stored in the .veg file. You can drag and drop them just like regular clips.
Gene Gajewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2009, 08:13 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Dylan, if you want it split into different scenes into different files, that needs to be done during capture.

What format is the file? For SD, Scenalyzer will do it after the fact.

Personally, I just drop it on the timeline, press "S" at the appropriate places, and then move them around as desired.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network