What's the Verdict on Vegas 9 ? - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 2nd, 2009, 12:42 AM   #46
Taken away too young... rest in peace Eugene
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 161
Yang: The random freezing up of the progess bar while rendering bug seems like one I remember well in Vegas Pro 8.0c. I haven't actually seen it in 9. If this is the same bug that I'm thinking of, I had a rather odd way I accidentally found that fixed it for me. Again, this "freeze" shows that the Vegas process has dropped to 0% of your CPU use, it's just sitting there in limbo.

My magic fix was: Launch another session of Vegas. As soon as the second one launched, the first render would continue. It's a weird fix, but it worked for me many, many times.

Just in case you hit it again, give that "fix" a try.
__________________
Scorpio Productions
PDW-F335, PDW-U1, Vegas Pro 9.0b
Eugene Kosarovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 01:30 AM   #47
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 162
Well folks, I can give an update on a strange issue that that caused be to completely redo my Win 7 installation.

Jeff - you're no fool....

I had a problem where whenever I selected a video track or media effect and then clicked on the icon to 'add' an effect - the dialog would stall, sometimes more than a minute. This was long enough to have windows report it as not responding. Having been around the vlock a few times - I decided to let it wait - ure enough it eventually came up.


I tried to trace it back by doing a system restore to an earilier time - no luck.

To hell with it -let's do a clean install.

Bingo - that did it.

I can't fathom why this occured other than something screwed up in DirectX
Gene Gajewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 06:32 AM   #48
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Gene, I have had to reinstall Windows in the past many times. I have an issue right now where every time I shut down and reboot my internet connection is lost.

I don't know about you but it takes me hours to reinstall everything: Adobe Master Collection, Office enterprise, plus about 6 vegas plugins, etc. all told about 30 programs. then I have 10 hard drives and they all must be renamed in Disc Manager each time as well.

Since I just installed Windows 7 for the third time I REALLY don't want to do it again as I'm about 11 weddings deep, maybe more and reinstalling means almost an entire day lost.

I do love this version of Windows but these little bugs are a reminder this is a test version of Windows, so how can I be angry?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 11:05 AM   #49
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 162
The internet is a terrible place for conversation - but we do it anyway.

Just in case Jeff, I merely meant to extend a compliment about your wisdom with clean installs.

I seem to be doing OK at the moment. Like you, I'm running out of available time to do things like reinstalling all the applications that I use.
Gene Gajewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 11:21 AM   #50
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
I'm a little hesitant to post this suggestion, because the one time I had a system drive failure my archive turned out to be corrupt...

Jeff, Gene, have you ever looked into products such as Acronis? (Norton Ghost was the standard for many years...)

Once you have your system/drivers/apps cleanly installed, you use this software to create a compressed archive image of your entire system disk, written to an external drive.

Then, when it's time for a clean install, you run the restore utility - voila, back to the good, clean install.

Though my experience wasn't happy (probably because I split the archive over several DVD-R, bad practice), I have a Vegas buddy who swears by this approach. Any time he perceives "windows rot" (his term), he restores the archive disk image. I think he does it about every 60 days.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 11:21 AM   #51
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Gene, I did take your post as positive, I just went on a rant about the whole deal, nothing was meant to be directed at you....

I was just affirming how the clean installs are a necessary evil, as you demonstrated.

I'm really glad it worked for you.

You're right about the difficulty in conversing this way, lots can be missed in translation from keyboard to the other end.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2009, 11:26 AM   #52
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thanks for the suggestions Seth.

I have Acronis 9 but found issues with it's installation, though for the most part it works fine.

I actually used better, simpler programs back in the 90s (Ghost, for example) that did the same thing.

Acronis installs so much stuff with its program that I disliked it after only using it a couple of times.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 08:53 AM   #53
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
I'm finding I cannot cut/copy clips from one instance of Vegas 9 64 bit to another. Never been a problem before in previous versions. Since I depend upon this task hugely Vegas 9 64 bit is not usable for me. It sluggish performance was a showstopper anyway.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; July 5th, 2009 at 05:44 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2009, 07:22 PM   #54
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
[QUOTE=Jeff Harper;1166105]Gene, I have had to reinstall Windows in the past many times. I have an issue right now where every time I shut down and reboot my internet connection is lost.

Jeff, I'm having this problem as well in Windows 7 and it only started after I installed Adobe CS3/quicktime. Before that everything was fine. Some people on some other forums seem to think it has something to do with a program called Bonjour that I guess Adobe or Apple installs.

Marc
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2009, 05:50 AM   #55
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Interesting Marc. I wouldn't be surprised if that was the issue. If you learn of a solution please report back as I cannot find Bonjour listed in the programs list, thought I understand it could still be installed and it simply doesn't show up. I have also found that in task manager it does not show up under processes either.

edit: I did find a folder under Program Files named Bonjour.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; July 5th, 2009 at 09:16 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2009, 09:56 AM   #56
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
The terrible responsiveness of Vegas 9 (particularly 64 bit) on the timeline bothers me, and while Vegas 8 seems much better, I thought I would try building a RAID 0 array specifically to rule out hard drive issues.

After testing on RAID 0 arrays on two differnet controllers, the results are the same on each, poor. While I didn't expect an improvement, I had hoped.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2009, 10:37 AM   #57
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
After a few weeks of testing with Vegas 9 Trial I've picked up a 2nd hand copy of Vegas 8 and it seems alot more stable - no crashing on rendering or when i hit ctrl + z!

The only difference I've found which is bothering me is the trimmer. In Vegas 9 you can preview clips in the trimmer window whereas Vegas 8 you watch it in the preview window and only get still frames in the trimmer window. Does anybody know if it is possible to allow preview in the trimmer window?

It doesn't make a huge difference; it's just that I'm used to always watching the trimmer window in FCP.

Apart from that I'm yet to find anything that I'll miss in Vegas 8 and it seems like a good trade off for (so far) much better stability.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2009, 10:55 AM   #58
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Yes I agree John. After I finish this project today I'm going back to version 8 (again).

I highly doubt the next release will fix the major issues. Their seems to be something wrong in the underlying code that probably won't be improved until the next upgrade, which is, of course 18 months or more down the road.

I admit I do like the NewBlue effects that came with 9, so the upgrade wasn't a complete waste as it works on version 8 as well.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2009, 12:25 PM   #59
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Wiley View Post
The only difference I've found which is bothering me is the trimmer. In Vegas 9 you can preview clips in the trimmer window whereas Vegas 8 you watch it in the preview window and only get still frames in the trimmer window. Does anybody know if it is possible to allow preview in the trimmer window?
The new trimmer changes found in Vegas Pro 9 were first introduced in Vegas Pro 8.0c
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2009, 03:01 PM   #60
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
I do love this version of Windows but these little bugs are a reminder this is a test version of Windows, so how can I be angry?
Sorry, but I LOL'd in real life when I read that.
__________________
http://www.dmvideostuff.co.nz
Dennis Murphy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network