What's the Verdict on Vegas 9 ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2009, 11:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 347
What's the Verdict on Vegas 9 ?

Currently using Vegas 8 Pro. Is it worth upgrading to V9 at this time? What does it do that V-8 doesn't ? (yes I know it has the 2nd monitor, but I can live without that).
I am thinking of waiting for V10, unless some one can tell me that there is a great performace boost or feature set in V9 that I am unaware of. I tried doing a search, but got almost every thread with V9 in it, so Thanks in advance for your helpful opinions - PK
Paul Kepen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 07:50 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Vegas 8 has the "second monitor" as you put it. It's the TRIMMER. It's just docked differently in 9 by default than it is in 8. In fact, 8.0c added many of the new trimmer features now found in 9.

You could look over my April 09 newsletter which lists the major new features. Then you can make a better informed decision as to whether or not to upgrade.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 10:20 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Has anyone figured a solution for the decreased preview window frame rate in V9? I've disabled the automatic quality setting in V9 and that has made a little bit difference but my playback frame rate is still only 50% of the playback performance of version 8, for the exact same project. By anyone's definition, that is unusable..
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 11:22 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Sony Creative Software - Forums - Vegas Pro - Video Messages
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 11:24 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Thanks Bill! I'll try that out tonight!
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 03:07 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 347
Thanks Edward, I'll check that out this evening.

On a different note; I am having problems with DVDA. My AC3 audio sounds fine when played in VLC media player. It was encoded with V8, as was the Mpeg-2 Video using the BluRay Mpeg-2 encoding preset. The problem is, that in DVDA, almost all of the sound is in the right audio channel. If you look in the timeline you can even see the volume bars in the left channel are diminutive by comparison. What is causing this? How do you correct it? I can't seem to find anyway to adjust channel volume in DVDA. I should add, that the .ac3 audio is in 5.1 surround format. Thanks for any info - PK
Paul Kepen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 06:34 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Nice find!
Thanks
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2009, 08:26 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Thanks Bill! that fixed my playback issue. I also found this page which seems to address the same issue but with a different resolution. Weird... http://www.custcenter.com/cgi-bin/so...ted=1242423710


Now rendering to Sony AVC and see if it crashes like it always does in Vegas 8c...
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 12:03 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 35
A big issue for me is the lack of Frameserver compatibility in Vegas9. I relied heavily on that in Vegas 8 and am very disappointed that I can no longer use it. Why this functionality isn't built in to Vegas to begin with is beyond me... Anyway, I'm still hoping for a solution to come along.
Kipjaz Savoie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 02:32 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipjaz Savoie View Post
A big issue for me is the lack of Frameserver compatibility in Vegas9.
Be patient for a bit longer.
It was reported on the Sony Vegas Pro forum (May 30 of this year to be precise) that Satish is currently working on the Vegas 9 Frameserver.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2009, 02:58 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida View Post
Be patient for a bit longer.
It was reported on the Sony Vegas Pro forum (May 30 of this year to be precise) that Satish is currently working on the Vegas 9 Frameserver.
I'd somehow missed that, I hope it's true! There's no mention on the DebugMode home page that I could see. Really it can't come soon enough as it's making my work-flow significantly less streamlined without Frameserving. If I were Sony I'd buy the code from Satish and implement this from within Vegas. Does Sony have a suggestion box? ; )
Kipjaz Savoie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 07:25 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
I've downloaded and have been using the trial of Vegas Pro 9 for about a week now. I've been doing a bit of playing getting to know it (previously using FCP on another machine) to see if I like it. However I'm having problems with it crashing fairly regularly, often when I hit Ctrl+Z to undo. Has anyone had any problems with this in the full version? My laptop is well within the recommended specs so I don't think that is the problem.

Thanks in advance
John
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 09:19 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
For me, Vegas 9 is terrible, bad, crappy.

I've found it's timeline performance is the worst I've seen. I just installed Windows 7. Initially Vegas 9 64 bit Vegas 9 ran a bit better than it did on Vista, but 32 bit is bad.

Others say it works fine for them. I run a i7 processor, lots of ram, and the only program I have that gives me issues is Vegas 9.

Adobe Master Collection runs perfectly, and that says a lot about the state of my PC, as that collection of programs can be pretty buggy.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2009, 10:09 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
There are a number of compelling features that make it a "must buy" for me. Several things I opined about on the Sony Pro forums got included including DPX and OpenEXR, REDCode compatibility, and XDCAMEX native compatibility.

I'll live with the growing pains for a while.

It's still missing some critical items (especially for broadcast work) but is really shaking off it's also-ran status to play near the front of the pack. I just wish Sony and Avid could bury the hatchet on the MXF format and read each others formats. That would make me VERY happy and keep me from jumping through dumb hoops every time I wanted to share something with the local TV stations.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 01:18 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
For me, Vegas 9 is terrible, bad, crappy.

I've found it's timeline performance is the worst I've seen. I just installed Windows 7. Initially Vegas 9 64 bit Vegas 9 ran a bit better than it did on Vista, but 32 bit is bad.

Others say it works fine for them. I run a i7 processor, lots of ram, and the only program I have that gives me issues is Vegas 9.

Adobe Master Collection runs perfectly, and that says a lot about the state of my PC, as that collection of programs can be pretty buggy.

Timeline performance? What's that?

Certainly, it can't be the UI of the timeline.

Adobe apps are famous for being obtuse. But oh, when you finally get used to them you get to enter the priesthood - and you must cling to your obtuse app like a unix programmer to emacs, lest someone pull aside the curtain and find out it's just another NLE, abeit with a crotchedy UI.

Adobe bombs out all the time. Vista's got it's problems, but it don't take no Data Execution Protection lip from anybody, and Adobe's no exception.

I'm getting ready to try Win 7 myself.
Gene Gajewski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network