Batch Render using different templates? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2009, 08:23 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 404
Batch Render using different templates?

Hi guys,

Is there a way to batch render 4 different segments using 4 different templates utilizing the batch render script? I have 4 segments that all vary in duration. I need to render them out with different bitrates to maximize quality for DVD. Thank you.

Kevin
Kevin Janisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2009, 09:01 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The built-in batch render script really is NOT designed for different preset for different regions. It will do the SAME preset for all regions very easily, though.

One thing you might try... Open Vegas 4 times and then manually render each regions - one region per instance of Vegas. Then it will do them all at the same time.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 01:47 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 404
Thanks Ed. I hope Sony adds a "feature" to allow this.
Kevin Janisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 02:35 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Wet blanket here...

There are encoding products that allow you to create multiple batches with different encoding specs, such as Sorenson Squeeze, Grass Valley Procoder, Apple Compressor, etc., then give you tools for management of multiple encodes that occur sequentially.

However, all of them (short of frameserving?) require files (not timeline regions) to transcode. I think you're asking to layer that sort of workflow transcoding functionality ("Job" management tools) on an NLE.

Frankly, I'd love it. I do that kind of stuff. Doubt any NLE manufacturers see it that way, although FCP and Compressor kind of link up in a frameserving way. I don't *think* it can work by region with FCP/Comp...
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 07:18 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
This sounds like the kind of job that MultiRender (a part of Veggie Toolkit) is supposed to be good at.
A demo version is available.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 07:24 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, as Mike said, your best bet today is to look at the Veggie Toolkit. It has the best chance of doing exactly what you're wanting. But I don't know if it will handle multiple regions differently. You could ask Randall Campbell (the author of Veggie Toolkit).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 12:38 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 404
Thanks guys. I think if there is enough demand for such a feature, Sony shouldn't have too much technical trouble adding this functionality. That's just the power of Vegas, 1 tool to do it all. I've worked with Adobe Premiere and After Effects solely for 10 years. After 6 months with Vegas, it is my tool of choice and I know Premiere inside and out; Vegas, just the tip of the iceberg at this point. The ease and stability of Vegas was enough to get me interested, the workflow in a single application for 80% of my projects kept me.

Kevin
Kevin Janisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2009, 01:41 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Janisch View Post
Thanks guys. I think if there is enough demand for such a feature, Sony shouldn't have too much technical trouble adding this functionality.
You'd think so but, in my experience, Sony doesn't work that way.
I've seen folks make several requests for features that would greatly improve the workflow and Sony is very slow at implementing any of them :-(
You can drop them a line on the Product Suggestion page but don't hold your breath waiting.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network