windows 7 64bit or vista 64bit for AVCHD editing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 21st, 2009, 09:10 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 75
windows 7 64bit or vista 64bit for AVCHD editing?

Hey Everyone,

Was just wondering what OS you would recommend for editing files off my Panasonic ag-hmc150 (AVCHD) in Vegas or premiere, on a new i7 920 quad core, 12gig DDR3 ram PC. Will probably also be using cineform or some other type of transcoder when importing, incase compatibility with those programs is an issue. Look forward to hearing your opinions. Thanks!

- Shawn W.
Shawn Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:26 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Windows 7 RC gets my vote. I love it.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:33 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Windows 7 RC gets my vote. I love it.
I'm typing this on Windows 7 RC on my laptop. Running Windows Vista 64-bit for my editing desktop, and it's flawless. But I vastly prefer Windows 7. So I'm curious - anyone running Vegas on Windows 7 who wants to chime in?

Oh, BTW, have been running Vegas 8.0c, 8.1, 9.0 32 and 64bit on the Windows 7 laptop with no problems. Just been hesitant to change to 7 on the main edit computer.
__________________
Mark Holmes
www.daisy3pictures.com
Mark Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2009, 10:41 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
No one can predict how it will work on computer, you have to install it to find out.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 01:19 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 75
Oh and I plan to partition one part of my drive for booting to editing, and another for booting to gaming PC. So the windows 7 vs vista problem was for deciding on the editing side.

On the gaming side, XP 64bit (so i can use all 12gb ram), vista64, windows7 64?
Shawn Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 12:26 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
I have just converted the last of my 4 computers to Windows 7 32-bit. I am more concerned about running 64-bit than about running Windows 7, which appears to be simply Vista-done-right. That is, all the hardware drivers and software (except Quickbooks) that ran on Vista, runs for me on Win7. It really is a great OS.

I have a dual boot to Win7-64 on my editing puter, but I worry about too many plugins and other software not working.

Quickbooks PDF/email output appears to be crippled. Intuit did this when Vista came out too, just to get people to upgrade. I hate Intuit.
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 05:03 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Win 7 has the most minor assortment of bugs, barely noticeable. The internet connectivity issue some of us had was eliminated with Marc's suggestion of eliminating the Bonjour folder in Adobe.

I have already pre-ordered based on the strong performance of this RC. It is, as Paul says, Vista done right.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2009, 12:23 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California
Posts: 206
For an editing machine, I don't know that I'd partition one HD into multiple partitions. I'd keep a smaller OS drive, 320GB maybe, a 2nd drive for "extra" stuff, including changing the OS cache to the 2nd drive so that the main drive and caching can happen at the same time. Then use either a Raid 0 for editing with 2 1TB HDs, or at least a single drive on it's own SATAII channel. Raid 0 for editing is fine.. if one craps out it's your editing drive, not where you would store your originals or finals. It's primarily to help speed up editing when the NLE's store stuff to the HD while rendering and such. I'd opt for USB2/Firewire backup outside the computer with some sort of 2-drive bay hot-swap setup.

I've been hesitant to use Win 7 until it's released just in case, and more so because I am worried some of my software and hardware may not work with it yet. Give Adobe and crew more time to make sure all their stuff runs flawless (as much as they can).
Kevin Duffey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network