Capturing HD Video using XHA1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2009, 07:14 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 48
Capturing HD Video using XHA1

Hi all,

So I'm doing my first HD edit through Vegas. I have ran into some issues:

-Vegas can not find my XHA1 when I open the capture screen and pick HD. I have replaced used different chords, different computers, but I just can't get it to find it. Any suggestions?

-I have CS2, which has premiere and that can find the camera. I uploaded the footage but I can't tell if it's HD. It's one big file and in .AVI form. I had heard that HD is uploaded in M2T form so not sure if I did it correctly. Any suggestions?

-Last, when I upload in premiere there is no scene detection so it's one big clip. Does anyone know of a program that can find the scene breaks and make the one clip into separate scene files.

Sorry if these are really dumb questions and thanks in advance for any help!
Ben Mahoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 10:06 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
If Premiere is capturing as an avi, that would seem to indicate that it is seeing your camera as a standard def device. If your camera is set to downconvert and output SD instead of HD, that would also explain why Vegas HD cap doesn't see it.

This is a strong possibility - you can confirm by checking if Vegas SD capture sees your camera, or just go into your camera menues to confirm whether it's downconverting.

If all this is so, then the solution would be to set the camera to output HD over firewire.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2009, 07:21 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Mahoney View Post
Hi all,

So I'm doing my first HD edit through Vegas. I have ran into some issues:

-Vegas can not find my XHA1 when I open the capture screen and pick HD. I have replaced used different chords, different computers, but I just can't get it to find it. Any suggestions?

-I have CS2, which has premiere and that can find the camera. I uploaded the footage but I can't tell if it's HD. It's one big file and in .AVI form. I had heard that HD is uploaded in M2T form so not sure if I did it correctly. Any suggestions?

-Last, when I upload in premiere there is no scene detection so it's one big clip. Does anyone know of a program that can find the scene breaks and make the one clip into separate scene files.

Sorry if these are really dumb questions and thanks in advance for any help!
Is the camera new or is this your first time using it? I ask because I think you have to change the resolution [SD/HD] on the camera when you first get it because I think it comes from the factory in SD. It's been about 1 year since I purchased my XH A1 and I think I had to change the camera to HD.
I've been capturing HD footage with Sony Vegas Pro without a hitch.

I'm thinking Seth is spot on with your issue.
Laurence Scott is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network