After Rendering... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 23rd, 2009, 10:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
After Rendering...

When i render a clip in Vegas Premium 8.0 it adds black bars to the top and bottom of the clip. What can I do to fix this problem? I went to the crop tool and changed the setting to 4:3 hoping that none of the clip would be chopped off, but this just added black bars vertically on the clip. Me and my friend are making a short film currently and we send each other footage often. He too has this problem. So say he renders a clip to send to me, then I have to render it again for the final cut of the film. That cuts off twice as much from the top and bottom of the clip.

Help please!!! I just want to be able to render without any of the shot being cut off.
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
what format is it shot in and what are the PROJECT PROPERTIES?

Make sure the PROJECT PROPERTIES match the format it was shot in and that shoul take care of it.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 11:34 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
I shoot in 4:3 always.

I don't have vegas on the computer I'm using right now...but what should i do with the properties if I'm shooting in 4:3?
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 12:14 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
if you're shooting 4:3 sd then the properties (file>properties) should be set to;
TEMPLATE>NTSC DV 720X480
Width = 720
Height = 480
Pixel Aspect = 0.9091 NTSC DV


Also when rendering, make sure you are rendering to an 4:3 format. NTSC DV not NTSC DV Widescreen

That should take care of it.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don

Last edited by Don Bloom; August 23rd, 2009 at 12:17 PM. Reason: forgot to add
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 06:45 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
Thank you very much. I'll give these settings a try and let y'all know how they work out.
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2009, 07:20 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Hi Jamie

I assume this is footage from your GS320??? If you are confused with the media size and pixel aspect at any time then if you look at the properties window in the right hand top corner you will see a folder. Click on this and browse to your raw AVI files and select any one of them and click open and Vegas will identify the file for you and set the correct project properties for you. As Don says it should be the DV NTSC preset. This little trick does help if you cannot remember if the footage was 4:3 or 16:9!!

Also when you render the edited video, in the render window make sure you check the box to expand the video to fill the screen and if you are making this into a DVD, use the NTSC DVD preset, not the default setting.

Did you get your 320 to work again????

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2009, 03:41 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
if you're shooting 4:3 sd then the properties (file>properties) should be set to;
TEMPLATE>NTSC DV 720X480
Width = 720
Height = 480
Pixel Aspect = 0.9091 NTSC DV


Also when rendering, make sure you are rendering to an 4:3 format. NTSC DV not NTSC DV Widescreen

That should take care of it.
I checked and I already render to these settings.
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2009, 04:10 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Hmmm, OK kinda got me stumped here.
Let's do some brainstorming.
What program are you using to capture the footage? If it's something that you can set capture settings maybe it's there?

Perhaps you can play some footage from you're capture device (I assume it's the camera) and play it back thru a 4:3 TV to see the original tape(s) and if it is being cutoff. If it is then it's in the camera settings, if it's not being cut off I would go back to Vegas reset the Pan/Crop and....WAIT! just thought of this (may or may not be it) go to the clip Properties (right click on the clip, all the way down to the bottom) click that and make sure the box 'Match Aspect Ration' is checked-if not try that. If it is, then uncheck it and see what happens.
After that, I gotta be honest, I'm not sure why the footage would be cropped.
Let us know how it works out.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2009, 09:58 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
Thanks for your time and patience with my silly problem. I know that the problem lies in Vegas. I know this because I used to render in Windows Movie Maker and it looked fine.

But I'm gonna give your suggestion a try in a little bit. I'll keep you informed.
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 06:17 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 25
This may be too simplistic an answer but when I had the same problem I did the following:
When rendering tick the "Stretch video to fill output frame" check box in the Render As form.
I’ve found terms like 16:9 not to be accurate “PAL Standard Definition Widescreen 16:9" is 720x576. If you do the sums 720:576 is not 16:9. I’m guessing one of your formats is not exactly 4:3.
Rob Croll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 10:28 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
I found that rendering to "dvd quality" instead of "keep originial size" getts rid of the annoying bars at the top and bottom, but now it cuts off a little bit from the sides. If I render the clip more than once it keeps cutting off more each time.

I suppose it's better than cutting off from the top and bottom for the type of filming i do.
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 07:28 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Harding View Post
I assume this is footage from your GS320???
The GS 320 is a native 16:9 camera (I have one) why are you shooting in 4:3 and using 4:3 project properties?
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
yes, I film in 4:3 and set all the project properties to 4:3.
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 08:24 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
It usually only happens when I embed the video. But if I render twice it will show up on the original youtube or vimeo video.

Will these black lines show up if i put the video on a dvd?

Here's an example... http://vimeo.com/5069056

HELP!!! D:
__________________
Vimeo

Last edited by Jamie Pippin; September 3rd, 2009 at 09:21 PM.
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2009, 04:42 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 98
bump.... :/
__________________
Vimeo
Jamie Pippin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network