Potential FCP convert has audio questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 28th, 2004, 04:26 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lousana, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 146
Potential FCP convert has audio questions

Hello all! Due to budgetary constraints, I am planning on building a new PC based editing suite in the new year. I have had a brief look at a friend's computer with Vegas 4.0. It has made me change my mind about PC based editing. It appears that I will be able to acheive the finished product that I desire for about half the price of Mac or less.

One of the things I prefer about Vegas is the potential for really good audio. On my old FCP system, I output stereo audio through my camcorder. It was either my sound card or my camcorder - not both. To acheive discrete Dolby 5.1 output while editing, I assume one would have to use the soundcard. My first question is; In vegas 5.0 can I output video through my camcorder and audio through my soundcard at the same time while editing? Are there alternatives that I haven't thought of?

My second question is what kind of sound systems are you guys using for monitoring your audio?

Question three; Is "voice over" available?

Change is good!
__________________
Nature Boy
Phil French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2004, 04:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 166
>In vegas 5.0 can I output video through my camcorder and audio through my soundcard at the same time while editing? >

Yes.

Vegas has audio capabilities far beyond FCP. Actually, it started as an audio application.

Gary
Gary Kleiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2004, 08:29 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
1) Normal preview has the video going to the screen preview OR external preview via firewire (hence your camera) and the audio going through the sound card. When doing a print to tape, the sound then gets routed to the firewire card.

2) You can go as cheap or as expensive as you like. If you want, you can set up a full 5.1 system and play it back over that system direct from the timeline.

3) Yes, you can do voice overs. Just hook up a mic to the sound card and you can record direct to the timeline.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2004, 11:28 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lousana, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 146
I wonder if voice over can be done through the mic inputs on my camcorder and firewire. that would allow for a better class of microphone.
__________________
Nature Boy
Phil French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2004, 11:41 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can capture with Vegas' video capture utility for that, although other programs are more elegant as you don't have to capture video too.

2- Does your camera have XLR inputs? If not, it only costs ~$80USD for a basic Behrigner UB-series mixer with 1 mic preamp (XLR).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2004, 11:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lousana, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 146
Yes, I have balanced inputs on my XL1s with an MA-200
__________________
Nature Boy
Phil French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2004, 03:49 AM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
<<<-- Originally posted by Phil French : I wonder if voice over can be done through the mic inputs on my camcorder and firewire. that would allow for a better class of microphone. -->>>

Not as easy as through a soundcard I think. What you ofcourse
can do is hook up a mic to your camera (or use the onboard)
and then just capture DV as you would always (you don't need
to record it to tape first). If you import that into Vegas you can
throw away the video bit and just use the audio track.

However, with an audio card you can record directly into the
timeline (with just an audio track) and your footage will play
while recording (so you can see to what video is going with
the audio recording you are doing).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2004, 06:57 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you really want to capture through the camera, you should be able to capture directly but not straight to the timeline. If you use the Vegas Capture program to do it you will also get video. If you use Scenalyzer Live to capture then you will have an option to capture only audio via firewire.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2004, 11:49 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lousana, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 146
With FCP I have been capturing audio through my camera directly to my hard drive then dragging each phrase at a time onto the timeline. It sounds like I would be able to at least do that with Vegas.

I thought it might be nice for the narrator to do voice over while viewing the video to help with pacing and mood, but maybe that would be more of a curse than a blessing - never tried it.

I thought of another question re: audio - Would there be a problem mixing 16-bit audio from my DV footage with 24-bit ACID background music, for instance?
__________________
Nature Boy
Phil French is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2004, 09:42 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I thought it might be nice for the narrator to do voice over while viewing the video to help with pacing and mood, but maybe that would be more of a curse than a blessing - never tried it.

That's exactly what you can do if you capture through the soundcard direct to the timeline.

I thought of another question re: audio - Would there be a problem mixing 16-bit audio from my DV footage with 24-bit ACID background music, for instance?

That should be no problem.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2004, 01:49 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lousana, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 146
Thanks for all the answers, guys! I can't wait to get started on my new system.
__________________
Nature Boy
Phil French is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network