Vegas and Flash at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 10th, 2004, 07:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Vegas and Flash

Hi all ,


Did a search about importing flash files in vegas but didn't come up with much. I saw on one thread that this action is possible in Vegas 5 but the poster was asking about something else.

So here it is , anybody played with that combination , all I really want to do is great intro's for movie's and promo's in Flash and drop them in Vegas.

Is there any advice for starters on this kind of operation. I'm really new in flash but your vocabulary for Vegas can be as you see fit :)

Thanks in advance

Phil
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2004, 09:51 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
*some* flash files can be imported into Vegas. If you are just wanting to use flash for your titles, it should work great.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2004, 05:10 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Thx Ed,


Have you ever fiddle around with this before , any examples that you know of on the web maybe.

Indeed I just want to make great flash titles nothing more

I am actually learning Swift3D to import in flash so I will be able to mix animation and "flashy" titles :)

Thx and take care
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2004, 07:21 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: springfield, OH
Posts: 344
I believe flash movies can be exported in the quicktime format. So, that makes them easier to import without compatibility problems.
__________________
Tony

"Good taste is the enemy of creativity" - Picasso

Blog: http://www.tonyhall.name
Tony Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2004, 10:36 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Philippe, it should work fine for that purpose. Just export them as flash 5. Here's the official info from Sony:

http://www.custcenter.com/cgi-bin/so...LnN3Zg**&p_li=
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2004, 01:15 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Boy that answers it all !!!!

Thxx Ed and Tony.

Now just out of curiosity I'm trying to find movies with flash intro's , anybody where I can find some.

thx guys

Phil
Philippe Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2004, 06:58 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
Hey guys (and gals sorry...),

Now i'm trying to get the .swf files to show in Vegas and I can't seem to get it to work. I've tried the way the vegas webpage shows (deslecting the compress movie checkbox) and nothing, and I tried publishing it as a flash 5, but that hasn't worked either.

The image i put in my vegas timeline has is transparent with no text or anything.

Any ideas??

Thanks

*edit I also went through the sony forums, but they all said the same thing.Nothing useful as i still can't see the text. I have it as the most basic of settings (no layers, no animation, no action script, just text as text).
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2004, 01:08 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 55
Hey Fred,

I usually just drag the .swf right onto the timeline from the Vegas file explorer. The clip appears there as any other media clip does. I just tried it again before posting, and it worked fine.

In my test clip, I had three elements on three layers spanning 50+ frames -- text in a text box, text broken out as a graphic then converted into a graphic object and a circle graphic converted into a graphic object. I tweened all three objects and am seeing all three objects animate in Vegas

I published two .swf's from my test .fla. One a Flash 5. and one a Flash 6. They both imported into Vegas without a hitch.

I exported out, as usual, using the NTSC DV render preset and the rendered file showed with no problems.

Can you describe in detail what exactly are you trying to accomplish, what steps you took in your attempt, and what version of Flash and Vegas you're using? Maybe one of us can point you in the right direction.
Harris Ueng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2004, 09:21 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
Hey Harris,

I'm using Flash MX 2004 and Vegas 5. I had a setup similar to yours originally, but it was't working so I simplified it. Now I have 1 layer on 1 frame with no moving text, and the text has not been converted to a graphic. I've tried saving as flash player 5, 6, and 7 (with the compress box unselected).

On the vegas timeline the .swf appears transparent, with nothing in it.

My goal was just to play with the text to make a generic Title intro for my short films.

Thanks for your help!!
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2004, 09:55 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
OK i got it to work. I think it might have had something to do with a lack of frames..... Not sure. I just made a new one with 198 frames and it appears within the Vegas timeline. Thanks again for your help though.
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 11:02 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 55
Glad you've got it worked out!

(sorry for the late reply... I've had less of a chance to hop on here over the last few weeks... slammed with projects.) :-)
Harris Ueng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2004, 09:50 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
No worries. Thanks for the follow up reply!!
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 06:59 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Prague, Czech rep.
Posts: 16
Hi. another way how do titles in Flash MX and put it to Veges is exported the .fla as .avi and then use in Vegas Chroma key to deleted the background of flash avi....

if u prepare the .fla in same size as video in vegas, with same framerate, and best quality export video, it works...
Hendy Witanto is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network