Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 1st, 2006, 06:43 PM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
You need the master bus tracks to use some video envelopes (like SuperSampling) and for global audio changes, to affect the track of the entire project. So they are useful in that way.
DJ Kinney is offline  
Old July 1st, 2006, 08:57 PM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
Vegas Render Test Blues

I just bought a new Dual Core from Gateway (Intel 940, 3.2Ghz Dual Pros.), ran the vegas render test and I'm getting times around 8min!!! This seems waaaay too long. I've got a Raptor 10K drive for my primary and a 500Gig drive for storage. The machine is not connected to the Web and I have all the background apps disabled. What am I doing wrong? This computer has to be faster than this right? I'm certainly no computer guru, but I'm pretty sure everything is setup to run at at top speed. What am I missing?
__________________
Landmark Media
landmark207.com
Brian Bechard is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 07:06 AM   #33
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Which render test did you run?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 07:49 AM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ocean Shores NSW Australia
Posts: 28
Reversing the image of a clip?

Hi all,

Can anyone tell me if it's possible to reverse the image of a clip with Vegas 6. Eg: Say if the clip was showing a person walking from left to right in the original clip, can I reverse the whole image so that it mirrors the clip to make the person look as though they are now walking from right to left.

Thanks, Ian
Ian Landy is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 08:07 AM   #35
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Open Pan/Crop, right-click the image, and then choose the proper "Flip" option.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 09:33 AM   #36
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Are you sure both CPUs are enabled in WinXP?
Guy Bruner is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 10:18 AM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
I ran the dual core render test .veg file found on the vasst website.
__________________
Landmark Media
landmark207.com
Brian Bechard is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 01:14 PM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Bruner
Are you sure both CPUs are enabled in WinXP?

This may sound stupid, but how would I do that...In the device manager? It looks like both cores are working properly in the device manager. Is this what you mean? Thanks for your post.
__________________
Landmark Media
landmark207.com
Brian Bechard is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 02:50 PM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ashford, AL
Posts: 937
Yes, you can check in Device Manager. You can also check in Task Manager. CTRL-ALT-DEL to bring up Task Manager and click on the Performance tab. If you have two CPU History charts (side by side), then you are running two cores (this is default, but selectable in the View options). If you want to see if Vegas is using the dual CPUs, pop up task manager while running the render test and watch the charts. If only one chart shows much activity, then Vegas isn't making full use of the dual cores.
Guy Bruner is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 03:16 PM   #40
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
8 minutes doesn't sound bad for that test. If you try the older render test file, it would have finished in under a minute.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 06:48 PM   #41
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ocean Shores NSW Australia
Posts: 28
Magic, Thanks heaps Edward!

Ian
Ian Landy is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 08:44 PM   #42
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Ok, I have no more pride left

Since this is the first edit I've done using my post-production monitor, should I be able to get the same amount of sharpness and detail from my television.

Because I have tried every setting I can, and my footage does not look as sharp as my post monitor.

I'm mainly losing sharpness on distance shots, the same distance shots that look great in my monitor, and computer screen ofcourse.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=319818&is=REG
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 10:09 PM   #43
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
The short answer is no.
The (slightly) longer answer is that a post monitor like ours (I've got 4 of the same ones you do at the college I work for) will always look better than a home TV set, for a variety of reasons. I've got a 26" JVC TV at home that was approx. 1/2 the cost of the 15" monitor. The post monitor is capable of resolving 750 lines of resolution. I doubt that any normal TV can come even close to that spec. And, as you know, our JVC is far from the most expensive one B&H carries. That "honour" goes to the Sony BVM-A14F5U at a mere $5,400.00 :-)
The primary reason we have monitors like these is because of their colour accuracy and options such as underscan and blue gun only that a normal TV doesn't have.
Mike Kujbida is online now  
Old July 2nd, 2006, 10:13 PM   #44
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
http://droptodesign.com/test/test1.avi

There's the clip, just fyi
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline  
Old July 3rd, 2006, 01:33 AM   #45
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
BVM-A14F5U at a mere $5,400.00 :-)
Try the 32" BVM-A
It's only several times the cost of the smaller monitor ($37k list).

Quote:
Since this is the first edit I've done using my post-production monitor, should I be able to get the same amount of sharpness and detail from my television.
It's probably that your television just has lower resolution. You may be able to improve it a bit by turning down the "contrast" (white level) control.
If it's a CRT, the electron beam will lose focus as you try to push the TV brighter.

You could also try running a test pattern through the monitor to see how good it is. You can try generating 1-pixel wide lines alternating legal white and legal black.
In a default Vegas 5+ installation (using the default Vegas codec), legal white = 235 235 235 RGB.
legal black = 16 16 16 RGB.
A quick way to do that is to make a line of text with the 1 \ / | symbols (and real text like the quick brown fox jumps over the whatever). Shotgun it at various pt sizes... so there's definitely something that's 1 pixel wide.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network