Vegas 9 render files M2T too long at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 19th, 2009, 06:48 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milan - Italy
Posts: 5
Vegas 9 render files M2T too long

Dear All,
I'd like to know which render is better to see the final editing video on the Western Digital TV HD.

Now, I render my video (from HV30) to Mainconcept MPEG-2 (*m2t), but the render is very long, for instance: about 16 minutes of video, the render is 20 hours.

Can I use the Sony AVC or H264 without losing the video quality ?

Thanks a lot
Ciao
Cesare Pirotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 08:10 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Torbay, UK
Posts: 170
20 hours for 16 minute video! Thats a very long render time. What computer spec are you using?

m2t. should be relatively fast because its the same format as the original files Sony AVC or H.264 would be alot slower as it would have to compress it even more.
Jonathan Palfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 09:50 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milan - Italy
Posts: 5
Thanks about your answer. I know, it's very strange ...
I've got this PC:
4GB RAM,
Windows XP,
Intel Core2 Quad Q9550,
mother board Asus P5N-D,
NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT.
I've read: I've got this problem because I don't installed (on my PC) the DVD Architect (that I don't use). Is it possible ???
Thanks a lot
Ciao
Cesare Pirotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 10:35 AM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
I've read: I've got this problem because I don't installed (on my PC) the DVD Architect (that I don't use). Is it possible ???
I would say NO. DVD Architect doesn't add anything codec related that's not already in Vegas.

As for the speed, it's hard to say. There could be MANY factors involved.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2009, 10:43 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
20 hours? Ouch! A lot depends on what you might have done to the clips. Lots of CC, pan/crop, magic bullet will kill your render times, big transitions, lots of text graphics using the media generators, will definately add to render but 20 hours! Yowzaa!
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2009, 02:11 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milan - Italy
Posts: 5
Dear All,
into these 16 minutes, there are some effects and so on (in any case, not more). But, yesterday evening, I closed all others PC applications. I performed ONLY Vegas 9 and the rendering was (time approximate) 4 hours.
Very well time. Before the night, the percentage was 35%.
But this morning, I had a memory error of Vegas 9, and the rendering process closed. I don't understand why ??? There was only Vegas activated.

The DYNAMIC PREVIEW was ZERO.

Thanks a lot about your helps to understand the problem
Ciao
Cesare Pirotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2009, 06:36 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
The important thing about the effects is: what effects are you using? Some effects make little difference in rendering. Some effects make a huge difference. You should tell us what effects you are using.

Also, try this: Remove all effects, save the project with a different name then try to render and see if there is a big difference.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2009, 01:54 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milan - Italy
Posts: 5
Dear All,

first of all, I've deleted all effects/transitions/and so on, but I've got the same memory error with only Vegas open.
After, I've divided in two part the original video (with effects/transitions/and so on), and with ONLY Vegas 9.0b opened, I've rendered it and it worked.
Before to open the second video part, I've closed Vegas 9.0b, open again and rendered the second part = it worked. Because, when I opened directly the second video, Vegas showed the same memory error.
Finally, I've join the two files .M2T and in 5 minutes I've created my video ...

I hope Vegas solve asap this memory problem.

Thanks a lot to everybody
Ciao
Cesare Pirotta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2009, 02:15 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Good job, well done.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network