Vegas 6: "The device 'Microsoft AV/C Tape Subunit Device' could not be opened." at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 13th, 2005, 11:30 PM   #1
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Vegas 6: "The device 'Microsoft AV/C Tape Subunit Device' could not be opened."

I've got PP 1.5 and EDIUS PRO 3 all working perfectly with both JVC and Sony HDV camcorders.

Then I installed Vegas 6 and then 6b.

Plugged in Sony HDV deck and got the familiar XP beep.
Started V6.
Opened a New "HDV 1080i60" Project.
Opened Capture Tool which opened >> Sony Video Capture 6.0
No matter what I do I keep getting an error message:

"The device 'Microsoft AV/C Tape Subunit Device' could not be opened."

I've also tried the script:

1. Plug in Camera
2. Go to Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager
3. Locate AV/C Tape Device under Sound, video and game controllers
4. Choose Update Driver
5. Choose "No, not this time"
6. Click Next
7. Choose “Install from a list or a specific location (Advanced)”
8. Choose “Don’t search. I will choose the driver to install.”
9. Uncheck “Show compatible hardware
10. Scroll to the first “Sony” device
11. Select “Sony D-VHS Device”
12. Click Next
13. Click YES to warning
14. Click Finish
15. Close

Still doesn't work with either JVC or Sony HDV. (And, you should not have to do this -- or if you are -- then Sony should have documented it!)

I'm sure Vegas 6 will work if I install Connect HD 1.7 -- but the point of V6 was the capture and export were supposed to be integrated.

So far Vegas 6 is a no go for me. But V5 with KDDI I/O worked fine.

EDIUS PRO 3 with Native or convert to HQ work as nicely as does PP 1.5 with free HDV plug-in.

It's obvious to me that CineForm really will be required for both Vegas and Premiere for practical editing -- but right now I'm testing what the vendors ship. Since I'm not the only one reporting this Capture error, Sony's "out of the box" in my experience doesn't match the rest.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2005, 03:55 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Gee... At last someone else who's spotted the one failing of Vegas as a Sony product that I've struggled to convince people existed.

The only way I've ever been able to get HDV m2ts into Vegas was using ConnectHD Link tool to capture, then load the clips into the media pool.

Makes one wonder how many people actually use the products with the hardware sometimes...

Oh, that's right - I forgot - Vegas captures fine with the Sony HDV cam set to DV output, so we must assume they've got it right and you've got it wrong...

That's my rant for the day done...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2005, 07:45 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 70
To capture footage of Z1 to PC, I use graphEdit softwere. It is very stable and freeware. You may find the details at www.webtc.com/DVHS/default.htm
Peter Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2005, 08:55 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 54
Open Vegas 6 as you've done previously. At the extreme lower left corner of the opening page, click on "capture". Right click on the 16:9 Blue Box that appears in the lower left side of the capture window. Select "device", select "IEEE 1394/MPEG2-TS Device" and "Sony HDR-Z1/FX1". The VCR controls below, will now operate your Z1/FX1. Set your Capture Folder destination and Clip Name and you're ready to record.
Ben Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
Are there no other solutions to this problem? I've tried naming the files (which were already named properly). Ive tried installing the AV/C device drivers. Iv'e tried downloading a windows update that was suggested for this problem. I've tried an alternative capture program. Nothing works. My HC1 will capture SD footage but not HDV.

Windows XP SP2
Vegas 6.0
Kevin Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2005, 01:44 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
Ah i figured it out. Vegas 6.0 simply doesnt work had to use a CapDVHS similar program.
Kevin Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2005, 06:03 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
You may find ConnectHD to be superior. Not only do you get the HDLink tool to capture, but also the 'un-compressed' CFHD format for editing - which means better quality end product... and there's a demo version if you just want to try first.

Also VLC is rather handy...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 54
Vegas 6: "The device 'Microsoft AV/C Tape Subunit Device' could not be opened."

Steve,
I think you may be missing one very important step in setting up Vegas 6 for HDV Capture:
"Clear the Use external video capture application check box" (step C, 1.)

Vegas will immediately find your FX1/Z1 if you perform the steps listed below.

1.
a. From the Options menu, choose Preferences.
b. Click the Video tab.
c. Clear the Use external video capture application check box.
d. Click the OK button.
2. From the File menu, choose Capture Video (or click the Capture Video button in the Project Media window) to start the Sony Video Capture application.
3. Configure your HDV device in Video Capture:
a. Click the button in the Capture window to open the Capture Preferences dialog.
b. Click the Device tab.
c. From the Device type drop-down list, choose IEEE 1394/MPEG2-TS Device.
d. From the Device drop-down list, choose your HDV camera.
4. Capture your clip:
a. Use the transport controls below the Video Preview window to cue your tape.
b. Click the Start Capture button to start capturing.
c. Press the Play button on your camcorder.
d. Click the Stop button (or press Esc) to end the capture procedure.

Your clip is saved to the folder specified on the Disk Management tab of the Capture Preferences dialog. This path is displayed in the Capture Folder box in the Video Capture window.

Regards,
Ben
Ben Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2005, 05:49 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
I'm having the same problem. And none of the fixes suggested here worked. The Device and Device Type read correct in the preferences. The blue box says preview is turned off and all the transport controls and start capture button remains gray. Any idea what else I need to look into?

Thanks in advance.
Dhruba Naug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 10:33 AM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Zanesville OH
Posts: 2
I was having this same problem, but my friend Kevin told me to try this.

Open Vegas. Go to the capture screen. Turn your camera on like you are going to record something. It should show on your capture screen. Now turn it off and back on to play mode.

Worked for me. Easy and simple!
Melissa Hina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 11:14 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
I could be suffering from pre lunch hunger breakdown, but I thought I got this error once when I was trying to capture HDV with the wrong capture selection in Vegas, once I changed my Z1 to downconvert to DV, I was good to go.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 11:15 AM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melissa Hina View Post
I was having this same problem, but my friend Kevin told me to try this.

Open Vegas. Go to the capture screen. Turn your camera on like you are going to record something. It should show on your capture screen. Now turn it off and back on to play mode.

Worked for me. Easy and simple!
Welcome to DVINFO, Melissa. You replied to a thread which is 2 years old. A lot has happened in the intervening time frame, including Vegas 7.

But thanks for choosing to join us and attempt to help someone out. That's exactly what we're here for.

regards,

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
Welcome to DVINFO, Melissa. You replied to a thread which is 2 years old. A lot has happened in the intervening time frame, including Vegas 7.

But thanks for choosing to join us and attempt to help someone out. That's exactly what we're here for.

regards,

-gb-

See, I was suffering from a hunger breakdown. What is it if we can't laugh at ourselves. And Welcome Melissa.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 12:16 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 125
What worked for me was:

1. In Vegas go to Preferences then in Video uncheck the "Use external video capture application".
2. Turn the camcorder on in VCR mode and fastforward the tape about 1 minute into the beginning and play the footage in the camcorder for several seconds.
3. Turn the camcorder off and turn it back on in VCR mode. Windows should then prompt you with the dialog box to choose application with which to capture the footage. After that you can capture it in Vegas or any other NLE installed on your machine.

Best

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org
__________________
Sincerely,

Renat Zarbailov of Innomind.org
Renat Zarbailov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2010, 12:16 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 15
external capture is for SD only, internal capture is for HD
John Gordon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network