Video Event Undersample rates resets after Split at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 7th, 2010, 01:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Ysidro CA
Posts: 41
Video Event Undersample rates resets after Split

Hi I'm editing a two camera setup live event of approximately 1 hr using the Vegas Pro 9.0e 64 bit . I used two GH1's at 60p (59.940) mode. I'm working at at 24p (23.976) in vegas, so I have to undersample my video events to 0.4 to convert the 60p to 24p. but my problem is that everytime I split a video event, the undersample of the video event at the right resets to 1, does anybody here know how to lock this down?


I've been using the trial version of the Vegasaur plugin to change the undersample rate of multiple video events at the same time, I just want to make sure that there is no other way to solve this with vegas tools

Thanks!
Bernardo Gutierrez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2010, 01:44 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
I've not done this specifically, but, if it's like most such...

Instead of changing the undersample rate of an event on the timeline, find the source footage in the project media window, right-click, select properties, and apply the undersample rate setting there. Should fix it for all instances of that media on the timeline.

***EDIT***
See below, this general advice did not work for Bernardo, this property cannot be changed at the "media" level.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.

Last edited by Seth Bloombaum; August 8th, 2010 at 11:37 AM.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2010, 01:57 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Ysidro CA
Posts: 41
Where can I apply the undersample rating in the footage properties? I don't see the option and the frame rate field is fixed.
Attached Thumbnails
Video Event Undersample rates resets after Split-untitled-1.jpg  
Bernardo Gutierrez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2010, 06:59 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I have confirmed that the same happens for me and there is no option at the media level. If you wanted to do it "after the fact", a script could do them all for you in one pass. But, indeed, it reverts back to one after a split.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2010, 08:16 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Ysidro CA
Posts: 41
Thanks Edward, yes, I think the only option available is via scripts or plugins because I haven't found any option in vegas that stops the undersample reverting to 1 after each split.
Bernardo Gutierrez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network