DVDA and audio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 21st, 2010, 04:39 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 45
DVDA and audio

I'm fairly certain I know what the answer to this is going to be but I just have to ask,

A client brought a HD h.264 file with a 5.1 surround ac3 to burn to Blu-Ray. Opening the files up in DVDA was no problem HOWEVER it seems whomever did the original encode for the file rendered out the ac3 first then added about 5 seconds of black to the top of the video file and rendered that out to the h.264 (and it was all done in Compressor I believe.) Now the problem is that the audio is now off by, yup, 5 seconds.

Since Vegas can not open either the h.264 file OR the ac3 I was hoping I could just slide that little audio bugger on the DVDA timeline 5 seconds and voila, but it seems like that's not possible. And there's the rub, Architect can't slide the audio or add a little slug on either the video or audio timeline can it?
Michael Tobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 04:55 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,772
I do not believe DVDA will allow you to move the audio or video. If you've got SoundForge I believe you could open the 5.1 file and add 5 seconds onto it and resave it with no loss.

Garrett
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2010, 09:15 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ravenna, OH
Posts: 198
You can also use Audacity (free audio editor) Audacity: New features in Audacity 1.3 but you have to enable the FFMPEG Library:

Click 'Edit' > 'Preferences' and use the link to the FFMPEG Library.
It allows loading and saving of AC3.
Thomas Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2010, 06:15 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 45
Well I just ended up doing it in Encore. Surprisingly enough Encore will let you move the ac3 tracks around, but DVDA didn't? Well it's still Sony a zillion and Adobe 1.

But thanks for the tips.
Michael Tobias is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network