16+ Hours to render three minutes of footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 26th, 2010, 06:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 28
16+ Hours to render three minutes of footage

So I'm editing together a short film and I want to send one of the actors what I got so far and I'm right at the three minute mark. I out to render out as a MOV file at 1920X1080 HD, it's been rendering for 42 minutes all ready and it's stuck at 0%, the estimated time is at 17 hours and counting, I'm looking at my CPU and it's not moving, has it crashed or is really taking this long to render? How can I make this faster?
Eduardo Romero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 06:50 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Hi Eduardo

You can shut it down cos it ain't gonna render!!! It happened to me once when there was an error during the edit and the render sat at 0%....something is not right with the setup..with me I had a volume slider set to infinity and amazingly enough that caused the render to halt!! (but nothing in the form of error messages!!)

What will the actor what your 3 min segment on???? computer??? If so maybe render it to something easy like MP4 and pop it onto YouTube ??? or just send the MP4 file.

Try a quick render using the Sony AVC render setting and choose the 1280x720 preset

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 09:39 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 28
I've tried a few different settings, same problem
Eduardo Romero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2010, 11:42 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: State College PA
Posts: 45
Is this a new problem or are you new to Vegas? What has been your past rendering times?
Just wondering if it's an install problem.
Tom Majeski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 01:57 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 28
I've been using vegas for years but I just upgraded to AVCHD from Mini DV so I'm not sure how to optomize vegas for the format
Eduardo Romero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 08:39 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
It might help if we had a few more details???

What camera are you creating the AVCHD on ??? What computer and which version of Vegas???

It could be a single problem above or all three!!! To give you an idea I shoot on Panasonic and the MTS files import nicely in Vegas 9 and rendering down to MPEG2 on my little DuoCore takes roughly 8 minutes per minute on footage on the timeline....if you do the same with the HD file transcoded to DV-AVI it will render a 5 minutes clip in about 2 minutes where the MTS file takes nearly an hour!!

List some specs and I'm sure someone can help!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 03:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 28
It's a sony HDR XR500

The computer is a custom build

2.4 GHZ Quad Core processor
4 Gigs DDR2 Rams
500 GB SATA HDD
640 MB VRAM
Windows 7 64-Bit

Running Vegas 9.0 64- bit

I'm rendering the clips independantly to MOV files (3 MBPS) and I'll render back out to MTS when it's all finished, hope that'll work
Eduardo Romero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 04:55 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Why are you rendering to MOV?
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 06:30 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 313
What's your Dynamic RAM preview memory set to?
David Jasany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 12:18 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 28
3 Gigs

And I honestly have no reason why I chose MOV I just did
Eduardo Romero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 06:20 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 313
Change dynamic RAM preview to something low, such as 350MB, which is the default for Vegas 8.1. That will probably fix your problem. Also, the default number of rendering threads is 16.
David Jasany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 08:01 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eduardo Romero View Post
And I honestly have no reason why I chose MOV I just did
If you're sending the actor something for review purposes, use the "Internet 16:9 HD 30p" Template found under the "Sony AVC (*.mp4, *.m2ts, *.avc) Save as type".
Customize it as desired.
Quality is excellent, the file size is small and the render should be pretty quick.

Note: this render template is available in Pro 9 only.

Last edited by Mike Kujbida; September 28th, 2010 at 11:16 AM.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 09:29 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Here's a screenshot of what I was talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
16+ Hours to render three minutes of footage-render.jpg  
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 10:42 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 249
Just throwing this out there, it's unlikely the cause of the problem, but how many effects do you have applied to the clip?

Some times when Vegas reaches the point in a clip with a large effect/amount of effects it will slow down drastically and temporarily display a misleading render time, usually tripled or more, until the effect is rendered and the ETA returns to normal.
Jordan Brindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 12:36 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Jasany View Post
Change dynamic RAM preview to something low, such as 350MB, which is the default for Vegas 8.1. That will probably fix your problem. Also, the default number of rendering threads is 16.
It Worked!!!!!!!!

Thank you and thank everyone for your help!
Eduardo Romero is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network