Preview Pixelating In External Display at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2011, 12:24 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 132
Preview Pixelating In External Display

I'm a noob with Vegas Pro 10. I did the same sink or swim thing in PhotoShop years ago and am holding my own.

I promise to do searches and read tutorials before posting here but I need an immediate issue addressed.

I have dual Samsung 215TW 21.5 inch S-PVA 1680 X1050 displays. When I view the previews in the external display it is pixelated. Even when in native or "as shot" size. I have played around with settings and did a search but to no avail. I am back at the defaults now and asking here.

Thanks.
__________________
GAPI
Allen Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 01:48 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

what ver vegas?

what pc specs?

what's on your tl?

what quality are you previewing at?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 10:13 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 132
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
what ver vegas?
Vegas Pro 10.0c (Build 470)

Quote:
what pc specs?
GA-EP45-UD3P & Q6600 - Stock Clock
8GB DDR2 CORSAIR XMS2 DHX - Voltage @ 2.1 (Mfg Recommended)
620W CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX Modular
POWERCOLOR AX3650 512MD2 Radeon HD
WD Black 640GB x2 @ RAID-1 Win 7 Pro x64
WD Black 1TB Storage
WD Green 750GB Storage
WD RE3 750GB x 2 in External Box @ RAID 1 Backups
WD MyBook 500GB USB Misc Storage
Dual Samsung 215TW S-PVA Displays

Quote:
what's on your tl?
What TL? I don't recognize the acronym.

Quote:
what quality are you previewing at?
All was defaulted when I posted but I got it to do better by choosing Best (Full). The major gain was choosing "Display at Project Size" in Video Preview Preferences.

But please recommend according to what I can afford via my system specs. I noticed the memory allocation settings in there also. With 8GB RAM I can afford some. Think?
__________________
GAPI
Allen Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2011, 06:03 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

tl - timeline.

what's on it might also contribute to poor preview.

do your project settings equal your source media?

don't worry about the ram for the moment.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2011, 09:38 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 132
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

Thanks,

I'm experimenting for now with files I have already processed with Windows Movie maker so that is a good question and may reveal me dilemma? Agree?

However it has improved with unchecking "Adjust Size & Quality for optimal playback"

So as a test I guess I need to import as shot from the camcorder and see what happens?

I have also been reading about optimizing file source & rendering locations being on separate drives none of which is the OS drive. I have the resources to do this and am wondering if this has any effect on my OP question?

Thanks
__________________
GAPI
Allen Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2011, 06:31 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

try straight captured files - nothing previously worked on in another nle.

certainly try to avoid capturing / working on your os drive.

yes, 'Adjust Size & Quality for optimal playback' doesn't seem to help matters in general (good idea, poorly implemented).
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2011, 09:07 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 132
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

Thanks Guys we are good.

I also learned around here about separating the source, rendered destination & OS HDD's. Lucky for me I have plenty of options.
__________________
GAPI
Allen Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2011, 10:22 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cartersville GA
Posts: 132
Re: Preview Pixelating In External Display

To follow up, I have two displays. I use one as an external preview monitor. To get a good preview I went in to "Video Preview Preferences" / Video Tab and selected the checkbox "Display at Project Size". Then because I could see a tiny bit of some interlacing I went to the next tab "Preview Device" and selected the "Apply Interlace Filter" check box. She is good to go. I see it as it would be rendered on the secondary.
__________________
GAPI
Allen Campbell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network