Render quality. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2011, 01:31 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 34
Render quality.

Hoping someone can help me.
I'm new to Vegas. Love the app - easy to use etc, but having a problem with output.

I've tried every preset in the "Render All" dialog, but even when I max out all the bitrates/quality settings I get horrible colour banding in my final rendered clips.

Even stalwarts like Animation codec at 100% (and Uncompressed) exhibit obvious compression / banding.
I should explain my workflow in case this is screwing up my render...

I started the project by importing low-res proxies to do my editing - worked smooth/easy. (480 x 270 mpegs)

Now that the editings done, I replaced each proxy-res clip in the project import window with its high quality 'online' version. (1920 x 1080 Animation codec - each one looks pristine/beautiful in the timeline - no artifacts)

So the project settings are now 1920 x 1080 and the timeline now has large HD clips that dont play in real time, but SHOULD create an equally pristing master?

What am I doing wrong?
Dan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 02:38 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,369
Re: Render quality.

why are you using proxies?
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 03:33 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 34
Re: Render quality.

It's a HD project. When I originally imported the hd clips I got stuttery playback.
Impossible to edit.

So I exported a low res proxy of each clip with qt pro and the editing was smooth as silk.

I reasoned I could replace the proxies when the cutting was done, which worked fine but the render looks crap. Is my workflow wrong?
Dan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 04:47 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,369
Re: Render quality.

a. what's your system specs?

b. where's your original footage coming from?

c. hd can put a real strain on old pc's, as can uncompressed conecs, and combined it can be a nightmare.

if you're trying to playback at full / best, unless you've got real grunt, forget it. i'm more than happy with preview / auto or best - i know what the final render will look like....

set your project to match your source. edit, then render out to what you want / need. never fails for me.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 05:30 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 102
Re: Render quality.

Can you post a still showing the banding artifacts with before and after? Vegas produces very little banding usually. Have you checked your codec settings? It sounds like you are rendering to quicktime and it is most likely that thw codec bit depth (number of colors) is set wrong.
Dustin Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 06:14 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 34
Re: Render quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
a. what's your system specs?

b. where's your original footage coming from?

c. hd can put a real strain on old pc's, as can uncompressed conecs, and combined it can be a nightmare.

if you're trying to playback at full / best, unless you've got real grunt, forget it. i'm more than happy with preview / auto or best - i know what the final render will look like....

set your project to match your source. edit, then render out to what you want / need. never fails for me.
a. AMD Athlon 2212 2.0GHz, 8GB RAM, Win7 64bit

b Digital animation files - rendered from after effects (not live action footage from camera)

c.Yes - thats why exported proxies of everything to edit with.
Dan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 06:15 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 34
Re: Render quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin Moore View Post
Can you post a still showing the banding artifacts with before and after? Vegas produces very little banding usually. Have you checked your codec settings? It sounds like you are rendering to quicktime and it is most likely that thw codec bit depth (number of colors) is set wrong.
hmmm - could be. I am seeing the banding in the source clips now you mention it.
Dan Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 08:25 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 102
Re: Render quality.

If you do not have to use Quicktime, I would recommend using a more conventional
intermediate codec such as cineform, lagarith, huffyuv in an AVI container. The codecs
in Quicktime for Windows in general are not very high quality or efficient compared to what
is available for regular workflows. If you need the final output to go to mac then convert to
quicktime as late in the game as posssible.
Dustin Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2011, 07:52 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Re: Render quality.

Good evening,

I have an old slower 2.1 ghtz dual core and it runs cineform just fine, but I will use good level for editing.
So, Leslie and them arre pretty much right. I also can run straight mt2 files but not a long form project and I have to break it down into sections and then later nest them together.
I would not use proxies.

my newer computer, i7, runs everything as is.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network