DVDA is stupid, someone save me please at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 13th, 2011, 11:01 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

Bluray project. Total size of media is 21GB. It was fine, till I re-rendered an ac3 file, now DVDA is showing 25GB as disc space used. AC3 file is exactly same size as before, and I deleted prior version.

I can't burn because DVDA is misreading media size. what to do? I have a customer waiting, and this kind of thing is not very explainable. I have a wedding today and cann't spend all day on this stupidity.

Oh, yes, and to make it even more fun, it suddenly wants to recompress the audio for all audio tracks, which it didn't need to do before. I think it's a glitch, but it really is a dumb one. I've deleted all the audio from the project and am re-rendering it just to see what happnes.

Any ideas would be appreciated

I may have to re-create the menu, but after the time spend on it would be most unfortunate, and there's no guarantee it would work.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2011, 11:26 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

I did what I said I would do, removed the audio from the project, rendered at the exact same settings as before, and now it's good again. Go figure.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2011, 11:35 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

Jeff, DVDA has a long history of incorrectly reporting file sizes.
I know that my sizes are always under the limit when I make DVDs so when it gives me that warning, I ignore it, tell it to go ahead and it finishes preparing it for me.
I'd expect it to throw a "hissy fit" and crash so the fact that it acts like nothing happened tells me that something is wrong in the underlying code.
I've asked Sony why this happens and they've never given me a definitive answer.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2011, 12:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Re: DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

Jeff move to Adobe Encore someday, I've never looked back to DVDA.
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2011, 01:27 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

Mike, I've seen this over and over in theads, but this is my first experience with it being so off. when it has been over in the past I couldn't get it to burn, I seem to recall, but I might be mistaken.

Nicholas, I've been threatening to do that for a long time.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2011, 02:05 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

If I know the size is right, I'll tell it to go ahead and prepare ignoring the warnings. Once it's prepare, I then have it burn. This is with SD footage, not BluRay, though.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2011, 12:20 AM   #7
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
Re: DVDA is stupid, someone save me please

Being confused and irritated with the reporting process in DVDA, I seem to remember setting / forcing the default 4.7gb to something like 6gb! That kinda stopped it from "talking in church"! What it DID do was to allow me to get a burn outta DVDA.

I put up with this behaviour - and the report to wish to re-encode - 'cos I like the general intuitive feel of DVDA. And yes, the reporting thing is just plain naughty. I'm guessing SCS needs to make provision for the more outlandish and memory-rich exigencies creatives can come up with, and the more enthusiastic menu / graphics creations that we can do in DVDA. I'm guessing that for SCS to make a more accurate auditing program isn't within the financial firmament of the company? That and not enough people, me included, have not complained enough or verciforously about needing to have a better "check-out" reporting system. Maybe if we are quiet enough, we'll just go away?!? Lol!

Cheers

Grazie

Last edited by Graham Bernard; August 14th, 2011 at 12:31 AM. Reason: Emphasis, and general syntax improvements I'd omitted.
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network