Vegas Pro 12 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2012, 08:41 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Vegas Pro 12

Has anyone heard if v12 will be 64 bit only? I didn't really want to have to upgrade my PC just yet...
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 10:17 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Vegas Pro 12

All we know so far is what Sony said in the IBC press release.
https://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/vegaspro12cs
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:06 AM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Robin look at the Video: 2:02 "64-bit Exclusively", kinda unequivocal right there!

G
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:11 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Thanks Graham...
__________________
TV Director / Cameraman
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:11 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Davies-Rollinson View Post
Has anyone heard if v12 will be 64 bit only? I didn't really want to have to upgrade my PC just yet...
Are you still running an old Pentium 4 or older CPU that's not 64-bit capable? Or is your hardware 64-bit capable but you're still running a 32-bit OS?

In either case, Vegas Pro 12 will be 64-bit only. No 32-bit support for the forthcoming version. And once the last 32-bit version of Vegas Pro gets its further support discontinued, you'll be stuck with cheapo consumer NLEs such as Vegas Movie Studio.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:47 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard View Post
Robin look at the Video: 2:02 "64-bit Exclusively", kinda unequivocal right there!

G
Thanks Grazie. I completely missed that :(
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:50 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Yes it seems to be 64bit only. All I can say now is it is definately worth the upgrade =) BMCC + Vegas + Resolve...
__________________
Firewerkz Films SGP
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 03:09 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Wish I had my ordered BMCC to concur with rest Sean's post, but I do think upgrade is going to add a lot of benefit. I can confirm it is 64bit only in Beta version at least.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 01:49 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida View Post
Thanks Grazie. I completely missed that :(
Yeah, I'm not surprised, it lasts for a split second on the screen.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 08:40 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Leong View Post
...And once the last 32-bit version of Vegas Pro gets its further support discontinued, you'll be stuck with cheapo consumer NLEs such as Vegas Movie Studio.
Given Vegas Movie Studio and Vegas Pro share the same code base, I would bet dollars to donuts that 32 bit support will get dropped even in Movie Studio. For some time now the default OS installation on a new PC has been Windows7x64, so it's easy for me to understand that's where software suppliers are headed.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 12:18 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 409
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Has anyone upgraded to Vegas Pro 12? What are your experiences so far?

D
Dennis Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 02:33 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: Vegas Pro 12

I Beta tested and have now upgraded. Remember it is 64 bit only. In Beta testing three different versions, there were little bugs that the next version resolved.

My favorite aspect of this one so far is color match. You can take the look off of about any photo in the world and apply it to your footage and get a consistent look.

I did one major project in beta, and used compositing, masking, Cineform files, and other FX, and no major problems.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 03:00 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Scotland, Ayr www.amour weddingvideos.co.uk
Posts: 304
Re: Vegas Pro 12

using vegas 12 with a gtx 560 ti (448 core) running fine including newblue titler pro.
__________________
john estcourt
www.amourweddingvideos.co.uk
John Estcourt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 05:47 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 291
Re: Vegas Pro 12

I upgraded from VP10 on Sunday.No problems so far. Not sure about the dialog box for codec choice in 'render as' which has changeed from 10, but DNxHD and Cineform codecs are both fully functional now. Haven't installed the New Blue stuff yet as I will be upgrading the Edit Workstation soon with CUDA GPU and SSD for widows and programs.
Steve Game is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2012, 02:11 AM   #15
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Vegas Pro 12

Yeah, the Render As dialogue "skewed" me for a bit. But now when I need to access VP10, and do a Render As I miss the new (actually present in VP11 too . . I think?) that are now available in VP12.

Also the Thumbnails in VegasExplorer - a revelation!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network