Can't see anything in preview window, please advise. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2013, 11:17 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Running Pro 12. I can hear the audio, but there's no video at all on the Preview Window.
The footage is .mov
They play fine with Windows Media Player. Please take a look at the attached Screen Shot.
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.-vegasscreenshot.jpg  
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 12:36 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

where's the footage from?

use mediainfo and post clips details:

MediaInfo
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 12:45 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Edit: I messed around with the Preview window setting, and somehow only the 1st couple frames played, but the rest of the video didn't show in the Preview window. Quite frustrating.
The footage is from a Canon AW100 waterproof camera.

Thanks,
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2013, 06:11 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

a. have you used footage from this camera previously. ie. does it work in vegas?

b. if you drop a generated media, ie. title or background, does it show in preview?

if titles are showing then it's your camera media.

if not, well, we'll have to look into that...
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2013, 04:07 AM   #5
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Here's a thought. What Build of VP12 are you running?

Here's another thought, and this from the SCS White Paper on Fixes and Known Bugs:-
"When the Show Video Monitor button in the Trimmer window is selected, video that you preview from the Vegas Explorer and Media Manager windows is played back in the Trimmer. Because the Trimmer is placed in the same window dock as the Explorer and Media Manager, you will not see your video preview. To preview Explorer and Media Manager video, you can drag the Trimmer to a new dock group, or you can turn off the Show Video Monitor button to preview in the Video Preview window."

This, and your altering the Preview options, could be some evidenced-based issue convergence going on.

If it plays fine in WMP it kinda indicates you have and the PC knows about its CODEC.

Cheers

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2013, 05:19 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Bernard View Post
Here's a thought. What Build of VP12 are you running?

Here's another thought, and this from the SCS White Paper on Fixes and Known Bugs:-
"When the Show Video Monitor button in the Trimmer window is selected, video that you preview from the Vegas Explorer and Media Manager windows is played back in the Trimmer. Because the Trimmer is placed in the same window dock as the Explorer and Media Manager, you will not see your video preview. To preview Explorer and Media Manager video, you can drag the Trimmer to a new dock group, or you can turn off the Show Video Monitor button to preview in the Video Preview window."

This, and your altering the Preview options, could be some evidenced-based issue convergence going on.

If it plays fine in WMP it kinda indicates you have and the PC knows about its CODEC.

Cheers

Grazie
Grazie,

Thanks very much for that info, it resolved my issue on the Vegas timeline.
However, now something similar is happening in DVD Architect Pro 6.0.
Please see the attached screen shot. The "blacked out" section on the timeline is shorter than that on the Vegas timeline. Audio is normal, but the video just disappeared within that black section.
Any suggestions?
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a67...ScreenShot.jpg
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2013, 05:20 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
a. have you used footage from this camera previously. ie. does it work in vegas?

b. if you drop a generated media, ie. title or background, does it show in preview?

if titles are showing then it's your camera media.

if not, well, we'll have to look into that...
Hi Leslie,

a. This is the 1st time editing .mov footage from this camera.
b. yes

Thanks,
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2013, 07:25 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

The weird thing is, the .avc file that Vegas rendered, plays fine using any player. I tried both Power DVD and Windows Media Player. The problem of disappearing video only happens when I drag that file into DVD Architect 6.0. then the Preview window within DVD Architect does not show the whole video on the timeline. Hopefully that additional piece of information will help you guys help me diagnose the problem.

I've attached a youtube clip showing me dragging the .avc file into DVD Architect, double clicking to open it, and you can see the video and audio peaks on the DVD Architect time line. Initially, ALL the video is there, then suddenly a section of it disappeared, that part of the time line turns black!

http://youtu.be/cxkM7szWtD0

Last edited by Norris Combs; January 26th, 2013 at 11:21 PM.
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2013, 03:15 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Why are you rendering an AVC file from Vegas to then import to DVDA? Are you wanting to render BluRay?

Here's what I do for SD:

1/- Edit "MyProject.Veg" in Vegas

2/- Render "MyProject.Veg" to MPEG2 DVDA Video stream in Vegas . File= " MyProject.mpg "

3/- Render "MyProject.Veg" to AC-3 Audio stream in Vegas. File= " MyProject.ac3 "

4/- Drag 2/- into DVDA

I'm confused . . . . ?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2013, 01:04 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: Can't see anything in preview window, please advise.

Hi,
Your suggestion is what I do when I want the final product to be a DVD. For this one, I want to.burn it to bluray.
Thanks
Norris Combs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network