Dvd architect problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2013, 11:34 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 8
Dvd architect problem

I have been using DVD ARCHITECT 4.5 for over 2 years with no issues. Now when I try to burn a DVD, it gets stuck at 66% on the making DVD part. (0% on the BURNING PROGRESS). I let it run for another 2 hours and it finally went to 1% on the burning progress and the approximate time left was like 56 hours. Can anyone help? I use Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 9 (export in mpeg & ac3 for ARCHITECT) , WIN 7 and I am able to prepare a folder, but I want to fix this. Please help. Thanks
Sean Lazlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 01:04 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Dvd architect problem

Sean, try moving the original files to another hard drive, delete all of the original files on the original hard drive, and see what happens.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:22 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 8
Re: Dvd architect problem

sorry, it did not work. any other suggestions?
Sean Lazlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: Dvd architect problem

You might need to do a re-install.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 06:52 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 8
Re: Dvd architect problem

I actually already did that but before trying the different hard drive. Should I do it again and should I move the files again?
Sean Lazlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 07:00 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: Dvd architect problem

Before you do that, look at the original project (VEG) file and see if any clips (events) look wonky. It might be showing red or there might be something else that just doesn't look right. Could be a corrupt clip.
Barring that, you could render in Vegas and burn in Imgburn. It's free and works like a champ.
I render in Vegas, author in DVDA5.2 then prepare in DVDA take the files from the TS folder and drop into Imgburn, BAM! works great! Did I mention it's free? ;-)
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 07:05 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Dvd architect problem

You know if you have time, you might, overnight, run a disc scan of your C drive. Also, I wonder if the files you have rendered are somehow corrupt. Have you tried re-rendering your files?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 09:05 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northwest Chicago, IL
Posts: 54
Re: Dvd architect problem

could it be your burner?
Roberto Diaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 01:54 AM   #9
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Dvd architect problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberto Diaz View Post
could it be your burner?
Quite. Try this to confirm.

A: Using a NEW RW DVD burn an old, kown to you, correctly-burning DVDA Project to the RW DVD.
i) - If it works, burns correctly, it's looking like the project - go to B:
ii) - If it works, burns correctly, it could be the previous "Media" you burnt on. You have your answer!
iii) - If it doesn't work, burns badly, it's looking like your burner - go to C:

B: Use an alternative DVD Burning s/w on a clean RW DVD.
i) - If it works, it's DVDA not burning correctly.
ii) - If it doesn't work then it's looking like your Project. This very hard to fathom.

C: do you have an option to test burning on another burner? If you don't, then considering a new burner. These devices are really cheap and, if you have done many DVD and CD burns, they do burn out. Or your burner was already suspect but only now you've been made aware of it.

Above all, please confirm you do have a nicely, free-ed up System drive and, where your Prepare folder is again not "crowded" by an over-stuffed drive.

It's all very frustrating. I know, I've been there with a Pioneer not burning CDs.

Cheers

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2013, 06:12 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Dvd architect problem

Sean, mine is now doing the same type of thing, it shows 5 hour prepare time. This is happening and I have to cancel my first night out with girlfriend in weeks and she is so pissed.

It's been crashing all afternoon, this really sucks. I've NEVER had problem with Architect before. I'm using V6.0.

I'm going to try uninstalling and reinstall.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network