Make 2GB MTS file individually usable? at DVinfo.net
DV Info Net

Go Back   DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

AVCHD Format Discussion
Inexpensive High Definition H.264 encoding to DVD, Hard Disc or SD Card.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 8th, 2021, 03:33 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 41
Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

When shooting HD in AVCHD format, the camcorder spits out 2GB MTS files that needs to be binary concatenated into one large MTS file.

Attempting to use these mts files individually would results in losing a few frames at the file boundary.

Is there a utility that can convert each MTS file fragment into a complete MTS file so that each MTS file can be used individually without losing a few frames? I'm guessing all that needs to be done is to fix something in the file header or maybe create a new header.
Peter Wu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2021, 03:05 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 350
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

Sony Play Memories Home I believe will concatenate files that have been segmented in camera provided they have a contiguous timecode.
Steve Game is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2021, 04:14 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lafayette, Colorado
Posts: 144
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

As long as you keep the directory structure intact, certain programs can do it. I use the Device Explorer window in Vegas Pro 18 to import AVCHD files. That yields continuous video files. I suspect other NLEs do something similar.

Mac computers seem to recognize all the 2 GB pieces as one continuous video natively.
Patrick Tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2021, 07:53 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,438
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

You could always use a join utility as found on the following link below. There are a number of free apps out there that overcome the problem of joining .MTS files without the audio and frame jump problems. Hunt and you will find a few out there in Google land.

Chris Young

https://software-download.name/merge-mts-software/
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2021, 10:43 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lafayette, Colorado
Posts: 144
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

I think you can also do it with a simple command line operation.
Patrick Tracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2021, 02:41 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,438
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

Yes, you definitely can by using the Command prompt. Just very time consuming if you have dozens of spanned clips as you have to add them individually.

Chris Young

https://photography.tutsplus.com/tut...ows--cms-25830
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2021, 05:42 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lowestoft - UK
Posts: 3,928
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

I've been routinely using the Mts files on the timeline for ages in Premiere and never noticed any sync problems cause by dropped frames? This is Premiere on PCs and Macs. I just open the folder and drag them in and start editing?

Last edited by Paul R Johnson; November 12th, 2021 at 01:19 PM.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2021, 07:13 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,203
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

It is best to use a utility for the camera used. The audio can be off by up to 1 and 1/2 frames depending on camera and the utility will correct this. Just simplistically joining on the timeline can lead to problems. PlayMemories works fine for Sony. There was also a pro version for the Sony Pro cameras that I used when I was shooting AVCHD too. Not sure if Sony Catalyst will join files too. Don't have any files to try now.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2021, 05:59 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,438
Re: Make 2GB MTS file individually usable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul R Johnson View Post
I've been routinely using the Mts files on the timeline for ages in Premiere and never noticed any sync problems cause by dropped frames? This is Premiere on PCs and Macs. I just open the folder and drag them in and start editing?
Premiere, Vegas and Edius don't seem to have any issues when "IMPORTING" from the cards. The problem for a lot of people is when they drag the MTS files straight into an NLE when there is no supporting metadata from the card. This metadata supports the stitching together of the long duration files that go past the 2/4GB file size boundaries of many cameras using FAT32 file formats on the SD cards. On some NLEs the video files when dragged it will join correctly but in most cases, there will be an audio break of around 12 frames at the clip boundaries.

This is how Adobe suggest it should be done. Adobe doesn’t make it clear (unless you’ve read the Premiere User Manual). And really this applies to all NLEs when working with MTS files.

There are at least three ways to ‘bring’ media into Premiere.

1. Dragging it into the project bin
2. File > Import
3. Media Browser

The first of these 3 methods work okay 90% of the time. Bringing media in via the Media Browser works 100% of the time and is the correct method to import media. As a rule, it is best that you only ever import media into Premiere via the Media Browser.

When importing AVCHD type media, right-click and select import at the top level of the folder ie on the ‘private’ folder, rather than digging down. This is so that all relevant metadata comes in too. Premiere does need those extra files because they contain the metadata that tells Premiere what to do with the clips where a single take has been split into two (or more) MTS files depending on the file size limit characteristic of the camera creating the files.

Hope that helps the confusion surrounding MTS file imports. This hairy question has been around since the invention of the MTS format.

If you are using Sony MTS files you could do far worse than using Sony's Catalyst Browse to import the files correctly for NLE use. Take note of the paragraph that states:

"To transcode spanned AVCHD clips, first copy them to a new folder. After the copy is complete, the indicator is removed, and the clips are combined in a new clip that you can transcode. For more information, see "Transcoding clips."

This will combine any spanned clips so that any broken boundaries are now contiguous and the time code is correctly maintained/continued and that there are no video or audio disturbances at the clip boundaries. You can then use them as is or transcode them if you wish to a new format.

Chris Young

https://www.sonycreativesoftware.com...ps.htm#Copying

You can get Sony's Catalyst Browse here. It's free:

https://www.sonycreativesoftware.com...catalystbrowse

Chris Young
Christopher Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY USA

Scan Computers Int. Ltd.
+44 0871-472-4747
Bolton, Lancashire UK


DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > High Definition Video Acquisition > AVCHD Format Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2021 The Digital Video Information Network