Canon XF705 and H.265 at DVinfo.net
DV Info Net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series 4K and HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series 4K and HD Camcorders
Canon XF705, XF405, XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF400, XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2019, 09:23 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,344
Canon XF705 and H.265

I have not seen a lot of talk about the new Canon XF705. Has anyone tried uploading the H.265 format into Davinci Resolve 15? If so was it the free version or the paid version? How easy was it to work with? Thanks, Bob
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 10:44 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,003
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

DaVinci Resolve does not have good performance with anything outside of ProRes/DNxHD and similar codecs.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 02:25 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 27,354
Images: 513
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

I thought Resolve was one of the few that could do H.265.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2019, 07:02 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,003
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

I would be surprised if you canít load it into the latest version of Resolve, but H.265 is hell to work with, even in the limited capacity I use it in (10-bit Dlog from the Mavic 2 Pro). If I was going to edit a project with a significant amount of H.265 originated material, I would transcode to ProRes.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2019, 01:43 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,344
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

Thanks for the information. At this point I am not seeing a lot of reviews on the XF705. And to tell the truth, since my XF300 is in excellent condition, and I have enough CF cards to shoot 12 hours of 1080 422 plus spare Canon batteries I think I will stick with what I have. If in the future I have to replace it and if H.265 hasn't becoming more user friendly I may consider the C200. Bob
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2019, 03:07 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Burnaby BC
Posts: 5
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

I am using Edius 9 to edit Canon XF705 H.265 4K 160M footage, no transcode needed
Attached Thumbnails
Canon XF705 and H.265-edius9_xf705.jpg  
Lawrence Kong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2019, 03:14 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Burnaby BC
Posts: 5
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

and Edius 9 support all Canon XF705 color space

709, 2020, canon log3

will try to canon log soon
Attached Thumbnails
Canon XF705 and H.265-edius_canon_log3.jpg  
Lawrence Kong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2019, 04:28 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,003
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

Yes, if you're just cutting the heads and tails off a clip, Resolve 15 is probably fine for that.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2019, 08:46 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 455
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

just saw this new release from Panny. Will make it very hard to spend thousands more on the xf705. it seems to have all the same featrues at $3500 or so. I was surprised that Canon was bringing the xf705 out at $7k. Did I miss something?

Panasonic AG-CX350 4K Camcorder at DV Info Net
__________________
Al
Upper left hand corner of the map
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2019, 10:48 AM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 27,354
Images: 513
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Bergstein View Post
There is a difference between the two with regard to SDI.

The CX350 has 3G-SDI while the XF705 is equipped with 12G-SDI.

I'm not sure that justifies the price difference, however.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2019, 10:55 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 53
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

I am having a heck of a time trying to figure out what to do with the 4K footage I'm getting out of my new XF705. The only way I can so much as look at the footage is in Canon's XF Utility which unfortunately doesn't convert or export it and Premiere can't ingest it.

Frankly, I'm not pleased at all with Canon, Adobe, and my camera salesman who seem to have all left me in a bit of a lurch here. The XF705 may be future-proof but seems to also be present-proof!
Anthony Nalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2019, 03:39 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,140
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

Haven't confirmed it myself but have been told SCRATCH Play Pro will play back and can transcode XF-705 HEVC files to ProRes.

The only issue is that apparently because of the existing HEVC licensing issues it costs, There will probably never be a real freebie type converter hence the shortage of transcode options out there. SCRATCH have a trial version available. ASSIMILATE the parent company are one of the few companies that are licensed to encode ProRes on Windows. It will cost you $19.00 month or $199 a year for a subscription.

Also heard that Premiere will will be able to handle these Canon HEVC files. I was told the latest version can already handle XF-HEVC HD files but not UHD/4K. I guess Adobe will just increase their monthly subscription to cover the licensing costs:( Check it out at:

https://www.assimilateinc.com/produc...atch-play-pro/

Chris Young
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2019, 06:47 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
Posts: 125
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

I have tested Scratch Pro version 9, and it works fine with Canon XF705 media. I tested with UHD 29.97 fps files and transcoded them to ProRes 422 HQ. I successfully imported the ProRes files into Media Composer.

I also tested export as H.264 (422, 10 bit), once with default bitrate (62.8 Mbit/) and once with custom bitrate (200 Mbit/s). In both cases the quality is very good.

Scratch Pro maintains timecode and shows a great amount of metadata from the recorded files. If one needs the transcoding, Scratch would be a good choice.
Joachim
Joachim Claus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2019, 05:15 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,344
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

It seems like a lot of trouble to have to go through just to upload H. 265 video clips. With the XF300 I just download them into the Canon XF utility and from there into Vegas Pro 16 my computer and start editing. As I said before, I will stick with my XF300 till my editing systems get it all figured out.
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2019, 08:51 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 455
Re: Canon XF705 and H.265

Are you sure that the Canon utility doesn’t have an export function? the old MXF utility did. Also, i have to believe that Adobe will add the format to Pr pretty damn soon. How long has the camera been shipping? It usually takes them a short while to bring it online.

Thanks Chris for claritying that SDI out feature. I missed it. I think that high end facilities will have that ability, and it certainly feature proofs the SDi, but frankly, I’d be willing to have a slightly (meaning a lot cheaper) version that only had today’s SDI. Most of the video SDI uses I’ve run into in my back of the map location were only taking the output to 1080p in a live feed. I’m sure that there is demand of 4k but it has to be pretty low, given that you need an entire chain of 4k devices to make it all work. And to spend almost 3k more? Not likely to happen in my budget.

On the good side, it appears to still support full wave form monitoring while shooting. I can’t tell you how useful this was for getting the colors right in the field. I’ve had a similar feature onthe Panny GH5 but it doesn’t stay on during filming.
__________________
Al
Upper left hand corner of the map
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY USA

Scan Computers Int. Ltd.
+44 0871-472-4747
Bolton, Lancashire UK


DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series 4K and HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2019 The Digital Video Information Network